Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Tai chi Introductory ten week course & Practice Day

5 Stars

02/12/2016 - Andre Spark

Excellent basic course, very practical instruction with individual support when needed.

5 Stars

11/12/2015 - Susan Cherry

Although I didn't finish the course due to transport problems, it was a lovely experience which I hope to repeat when it gets lighter in 2016. The teaching was very sensitively given on all counts & in a lovely setting. I am grateful to Abhayamati, Tim & the lovely young lady who assisted & looking forward to next year. Thank you Sue

5 Stars

11/12/2015 - Susan Cherry

Although I didn't finish the course due to transport problems, it was a lovely experience which I hope to repeat when it gets lighter in 2016. The teaching was very sensitively given on all counts & in a lovely setting. I am grateful to Abhayamati, Tim & the lovely young lady who assisted & looking forward to next year. Thank you Sue

5 Stars

11/12/2015 - Rob Cathcart

A first-class introductory tai chi course with an excellent teacher. A good atmosphere too - you get a thorough grounding in the basics but in a relaxed, friendly class.

5 Stars

06/12/2014 - Judy Pyke

This course is an excellent introduction to Tai Chi. It was taught with humour, gentleness and sensitivity, for which I was very grateful.

5 Stars

06/12/2014 - Judy Pyke

This course is an excellent introduction to Tai Chi. It was taught with humour, gentleness and sensitivity, for which I was very grateful.

5 Stars

04/12/2014 - Sue Shepherd

This course is a good introduction to Tai Chi, but it is also a great way to relax the mind and body! In each of the classes you learn a little bit more, to feel tied but refreshed when it's over.. Very definitely a great way to de-stress!

5 Stars

09/08/2014 - Elsje de Villiers

The course was an excellent introduction to tai chi.

5 Stars

08/07/2014 - Sheila

Abhayamati is a gentle, perceptive, and patient teacher. He and Tim (an assistant) combine clear, well-paced group instruction with plenty of one-to-one support (and laughter), and there's a lovely atmosphere in the class.

I had learnt some Tai Chi previously (in Australia), but it was good to return to basics with Abhayamati, especially as I hadn't practiced for several years and I knew I was rusty. Despite appearances, Tai Chi isn't always 'calming'; it depends just how many knots (physical and emotional) might need untangling. So for me, the relative intensity of the Practice Day triggered a bunch of old aches and pains (and a swiftly-made appointment with an acupuncturist). The difficulties were a good reminder for me to have more respect, both for this subtle (but potent), ancient skill, and for my own self. A skilful teacher, daily practice, and a long-term view are key, but the rewards are well worth the effort.

5 Stars

06/04/2014 - Ali Haddock

I really enjoyed the course. I thought the teaching was excellent. The teacher was very patient, fun and explained things clearly. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

5 Stars

16/07/2013 - Terry Schooling

Excellent course and very well taught in easy steps. The course has confirmed my intention to continue studying Tai Chi.

5 Stars

13/07/2013 - anonymous

Demonstrations: excellent; Teacher + an assistant who continues the demonstration throughout the practice of the various exercises while the teacher gives individual feedback.
Pairwork: very rewarding, although at the introductory level is seldom done.
Oral explanations: very useful in providing an understandanding and an insight.

Practice day: Excellent opportunity to meet more experienced learners to interact with and learn more. Time (from 10.3- to 3.00pm) goes surprisingly quickly. Vegetarian lunch, provided by all the participants, is an added bonus.
Homework: some daily practice is fondamental to achieve the ability to relax mind and body through the physical exercises.

I always sleep well after a Tai chi session.




5 Stars

13/07/2013 - anonymous

Demonstrations: excellent; Teacher + an assistant who continues the demonstration throughout the practice of the various exercises while the teacher gives individual feedback.
Pairwork: very rewarding, although at the introductory level is seldom done.
Oral explanations: very useful in providing an understandanding and an insight.

Practice day: Excellent opportunity to meet more experienced learners to interact with and learn more. Time (from 10.3- to 3.00pm) goes surprisingly quickly. Vegetarian lunch, provided by all the participants, is an added bonus.
Homework: some daily practice is fondamental to achieve the ability to relax mind and body through the physical exercises.

I always sleep well after a Tai chi session.




4 Stars

29/03/2013 - Anne

I enjoyed the course more as it went on and I began to understand some of the moves.
The practise day was great.

5 Stars

15/12/2012 - Joan Harding

I enjoyed this course. The tutor was very gentle and understanding and helped us all try to get the hang of it.

5 Stars

10/07/2012 - Gerry Kelley

The course was excellent - I didn't attend the second half or the review day because of work commitments which took me overseas. I intend to redo the course through to completion when things settle down again.

5 Stars

26/03/2012 - Jnanarajni

Very much enjoyed the morning (had to leave just before lunch). In particular I started to feel a sense of connection with the movements. The whole thing feels like an exploration which finds expression in the body, but involves the mind as well.
Your clear, patient repetitions do help a lot, and so does your humour :)

5 Stars

06/12/2011 - James Stedman

This was a thoroughly enjoyable course. It was well-paced, gently introducing you to the basics of Tai Chi, building each week and leaving you with the sense of having achieved quite a lot, whilst being aware there is so much more to get your teeth into.

5 Stars

05/12/2011 - Mary Wild

I really enjoyed learning the basic exercises and the introduction to the short form. The teaching method is very inclusive and encouraging, so, if like me you are not especially fit it is all manageable. I found it most uplifting and plan to carry on. Many thanks.

5 Stars

02/12/2011 - Jnanarajni

Excellent course. I liked the idea of working on the main principles first and then moving on to the form. The instructions were very clear and the repetitions of the movements very helpful. I felt well guided & supported. Challenging on my 'mature' body, especially at the beginning, also very satisfying when body and mind fell into place.

5 Stars

10/04/2011 - Roxana & Bill

Bill, my partner, and I have enjoyed this introductory course very, very much. We are very happy we chose the course at the Buddhist Centre and we also think that asking for advance pay was the key for us to attend this course more of less in full. We enjoyed learning the moves and the form, and we also enjoyed the sense of community that begun to grow between the members of the group. Abhayamati is an excellent instructor, clear, knowledgeable, friendly, welcoming, accommodating, and I could go on  We also enjoyed working with Tim who supported the sessions. Personally, attending this course helped me learn how to allow myself to do things in a more natural pace rather than in a rushed hectic way. The step by step learning helped me internalise this rhythm so that now I don’t have the urge anymore to reach a destination before all the stages have been traversed. I’m very grateful to Abhayamati for his gentle teaching.

5 Stars

06/04/2011 - Phil Holloway

This was an excellent start to learning Tai Chi. Lots of emphasis on getting basic principles right plus lots of encouragement in a friendly atmosphere and lovely venue. Highly reccommended.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - david thurman

Well structured and informative. Sometimes I thought that we could be going faster but on reflection can see the need for continuous repetition and a relatively slow pace.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Doug Williamson

An excellent course.
I'd thoroughly recommend it to anybody.
Doug Williamson

4 Stars

05/04/2011 - Iain Davidson

Good introduction to Tai Chi and valuable exercises

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Oscar Gillespie

Something I had been meaning to do for a long time, but finally got around to doing. Although progress was slow, and I learned less than I expected to during the course, this is an internal martial art and less is more. Focussing deeply on simple but subtle movements has been fascinating and rewarding. I will definitely move onto the next level.

5 Stars

21/04/2009 - Joan Hinde

Thoroughly envigorating & worthwhile, with an inspiring teacher.

5 Stars

15/04/2009 - Conny Nowak

I enjoyed the Introductory course so much I did it twice! Abhayamati teaches in a caring and non-judgemental way. The course and the Practice day have been positively challenging me and they are also great fun.I highly recomment you have a try!

5 Stars

27/03/2009 - Graham

Many thanks for a very enjoyable course. Very nice atmosphere throughout. I'll be back.

5 Stars

11/12/2008 - Sally Radnor

It may be a bit too early to say yet, but I have a sense that Tai Chi has been key in waking up a sluggish body and mind over the last couple of months. It has been a very useful adjunct to meditation practice. It's a challenge and a joy to (try to!) practise whole body movement. Abhayamati exemplifies his teaching and brings a sense of gravity and fun to Tuesday evenings.

5 Stars

11/12/2008 - Lorraine

This course gives the student a solid grounding in the preparation exercises that underpin all Tai Chi moves as well as introducing the first few of those moves. There is time both to assimilate the new exercises/moves and to practice those already taught in previous classes. The plan of the lessons, the pace and the thoroughness of the approach is what places it head and shoulders above all other Tai Chi introductory courses I've attended. The teacher, and his assistants, are always gentle, encouraging and helpful. There is plenty of individual attention and a great atmosphere among the group. Thoroughly recommended for all those who wish to learn the basics of Tai Chi really well.

5 Stars

14/07/2008 - Elizabeth Forbes

Really good and patient teaching creating a tranquil and inspiring experience.

5 Stars

14/07/2008 - Nicola

I found the standard of teaching excellent - everything was explained clearly and there was time for one-to-one feedback.

5 Stars

31/03/2008 - Nicole

Having had no experience of Tai Chi I found this course very interesting and easy to follow. Every exercise is practiced many times until every movement becomes second nature... well almost. I recommend the course to anyone interested in Tai Chi.

5 Stars

17/03/2008 - Liz Chapman

I have been doing tai chi classes with Abhayamati for three years now and
have found it has had a profound effect on me both physically and mentally.
I have become more focused and able to concentrate. I can relax more
easily. I see things in a slightly different way now. I am aware of many
links between the principles that I learn in the tai chi class and the rest
of my life. Learning The Form has required discipline and practice but
brings amazing benefits. I am very lucky to have both Abhayamati as my
teacher and my co-students to practice with. Its exhausting but always
great fun and I have got an awful lot out of it.

5 Stars

17/03/2008 - Tim Shuker-Yates

I have been going to the Taiji courses for approximately 2 years now and I am hooked! Abhayamati's teaching style is patient and non-competative, considering very much the health and well-being aspects of the practice. This means all age ranges and abilities will find it enjoyable, but over time it has meant we have worked with some real depth to the practice.

The classes themselves are very friendly and informal. I am however, amazed at how much I have learned, including exercises, form and partner work or 'push hands'. I am also beginning to realise, like all good chinese riddles, how much more there is to learn!

All in all, I would thoroughly recommend Abhayamati's Taiji classes, especially if its something you have always wanted to do, but just never quite made that commitment, its well worth it.

5 Stars

14/03/2008 - Sarah Green

My main reasons for starting to study Tai Chi were to improve my flexibility (I spend much of my time hunched over a computer) and also wanting to do something that I would find relaxing but interesting. Abhayamati has an excellent teaching style, breaking down the most complex movements into easy steps and then building them up into beautiful flowing sequences. Although we work in a group, there is a recognition that everyone progresses at their own rate and he often gives one to one guidance during the class which I have found invaluable - the smallest adjustments can make an exercise feel completely different. He is always really positive and encouraging, and has a wonderful sense of humour which makes his classes great fun as well as serious practice.

5 Stars

23/07/2007 - ksenia germanovich

thoroughly enjoyed this systematic introduction to tai chi. A good tempo, clear explanations of the exercises, + theory behind tai chi.

5 Stars

10/04/2007 - geertje anderson

I loved every minute of this course with the practice day being the highlight. Having the opportunity to practise Tai chi during a whole day is just fabulous; the energy towards the end of the day was great, and it was almost a shame to break it up, although you take the energy home... Look forward to a practice week???...
With thanks
geertje