Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Introducing Buddhism

5 Stars

19/10/2017 - Anne

The introduction to Buddhism course provided a gentle but very thought provoking overview. I feel I have a basic understanding of Buddhist principles which have sparked my enthusiasm for further study and involvement in the movement. The sessions allow for discussion and questioning is encouraged which feels kind and inclusive as well as helping to develop understanding. I would highly recommend this course.

4 Stars

17/10/2017 - Joanna Cates

I found this course very interesting. I have read quite a bit already about Buddhism but it was really useful for me to meet and talk with people about some of the ideas I have come across and I found our teacher was able to explain and clarify things really well. For me the discussion was the best aspect.

4 Stars

17/10/2017 - Hilary Glasscock

A very useful introduction to a huge topic lead by supportive tutors .

5 Stars

13/07/2017 - Chris Hirtes

An excellent introduction where very open discussions abut the subject were encotraged.

5 Stars

04/04/2017 - Dawn McLean

An enjoyable course that managed to give a good overview of Buddhist history, key teachings and symbols and rituals over 6 weeks. Ruchi demonstrated a breadth and depth of knowledge about Buddhism and conveyed this with a light touch and articulate communication making the course a rich experience. Thank you to Samita who's quiet presence added to the experience as well as her sage words and shared experience.

5 Stars

28/03/2017 - Rachel Hartop

Having been curious about Buddhism and its history, this course interested me greatly. Our wonderful tutors Ruchi and Samata were absolutely fantastic, so knowledgeable and keen to hear our questions. I was quite sad when the last evening came around! But I feel our group (which was awesome) was provided with some really good and easy to understand information. I can't wait to put what I learned into use for Buddhism 2 - but not before Meditation 1!
Thank you so much!

5 Stars

13/07/2016 - Lara Jobson

Really enjoyed this course. It was really relaxed and friendly with lots of opportunities to ask questions and explore buddhism.

5 Stars

22/03/2016 - Bridget Carter

A brilliantly run course at the Centre. It offered a lovely balance of teachings with some meditation. I learnt loads and am looking forward to learning more on Buddhism 2. thank you

5 Stars

22/03/2016 - Holly Hodson

Excellent course with an excellent teacher. Ruchi was great, he taught us loads and it was really fun and informative. Would definitely recommend.

5 Stars

20/05/2015 - Anon

A great course - delivered expertly by Ghosaka. Highly recommended!

5 Stars

03/04/2015 - Deane Banning

This was a very infomative course and an excellent follow on from Meditation 1 & 2. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning a little more about Buddhism. Sagaraghosa, Tajasiddhi

4 Stars

03/04/2015 - Lawrence

A very enjoyable way to learn about the key facts about Buddhism in a relaxed setting with experienced and knowledgeable leaders.

5 Stars

03/04/2015 - Holly

Very enjoyable! Informative and with clear ideas about how to make changes in day-to-day life, should you wish to do so.

5 Stars

21/10/2014 - Shelley Hugill

This course was excellent. Sargaraghosa was an exceptional teacher. She provided support and listened to all suggestions - which made for a conducive learning environment. The level of depth within the course material was just right for those who are new to Buddhism and would like to understand the basic concepts. I would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone wanting an insight into Buddhism.

5 Stars

13/06/2014 - Steve

Intriguing, interesting and we'll presented course.

5 Stars

12/06/2014 - Maureen

Really didn't now what to expect, and knew very little about Buddhism at the beginning of the course. Thought the course was well structured, very well presented and learnt some valuable and thought-provoking things through the very non-judgmental discussions with a great group of people. Also loved the venue with its history.

5 Stars

04/04/2014 - Lorna Evans

Buddhism 1 was one of the best courses I've ever taken. It helped me reconnect to my past training in Buddhism. As a result, I will continue with Meditation 1. Thank you!

5 Stars

24/02/2014 - Graham Carter

Outstanding course. Truly Inspirational!
I would recommend it to anyone wishing to explore the Buddhist faith.

4 Stars

15/12/2012 - Liliana Fernanda Del Villar Arias

I was very pleased by the approach of the class. I liked its practicality and the way its teachings were focused on our every day life.

5 Stars

14/12/2012 - Linda Gammon

An excellent course, very inspiring. Has encouraged me to want to do more, which I will be doing shortly. Thank you to all concerned.

5 Stars

14/12/2012 - david levett

Very touched by the kindness of people at the Centre.

5 Stars

23/10/2012 - Steve King

A great place to start on the path of Buddhism. Enjoyed the company of a small group of like minded people wishing to learn and get a flavour of what Buddhism is all about. A very enjoyable course indeed. I have now signed up for a module 2 course as I wish to take my learning further.

5 Stars

30/05/2012 - Daisy Haywood

Monday evenings were one of the highlights of my week. The course provided an excellent overview of Buddhist teachings and has inspired me to find out more.

5 Stars

29/05/2012 - Andrew Harwin

A wonderful and insightful introduction to Buddhism; I enjoyed the discussions as well as the more 'taught' aspects. I would have liked a bit more meditation integrated into the course - I am going on to a meditation course next before returning for the Buddhism 2 course.

5 Stars

15/02/2012 - Lydia Woolston

Loved the way Ruchiraketu led our diverse & enthusiastic group. Am hoping to return for Buddhism 2.

5 Stars

14/02/2012 - Elisa

I found the course very interesting and stimulating. It is an excellent introduction for whoever has even the faintest interest in Buddhism. For me the course has transformed general curiosity into a strong interest.

5 Stars

14/02/2012 - Judith Roberts

I wasn't sure what to expect when I signed up for this course, but I'd enjoyed the weekend introductory sessions so much that my hopes were high. I wasn't disappointed! Ruchiraketu was an excellent teacher, gently drawing from the group their own views and experiences, which he then used to exemplify various tenets of Buddhism. It was also helpful to have Kusilananda and Imogen in the group as they offered support and prompting for small group activities. Thanks to all for such a worthwhile course - I'll be back later in the spring.

5 Stars

14/02/2012 - Brian Roberts

A really excellent course, delivered with a gentle style that involved everyone. I realised that I learnt so much without noticing it happen! Highly recommended, and such a welcoming, warm and super group of people to be with.

5 Stars

25/05/2010 - Ruth

I cannot praise Guhyaprabha and Heart Vision enough for this introduction to buddhism. I really felt that the material was 'taught' without me noticing I was learning, it was more like being inspired. I also found it was very easy to make friends with others that attended. All of this was because of the positive atmosphere and everyone could contribute. I now understand enough to know i want to learn more.
Many thanks to those who taught and came

5 Stars

25/05/2010 - Frances Taylor

Our group was quite small (5-6 people), all different backgrounds, and we all interacted really well and gained a lot from the course. The teaching was very relaxed, with lots of discussion, and it gave us the tools to explore the concepts of Buddhism for ourselves. I personally gained a lot from the course and really enjoyed it; each week I came home all energised and inspired, and I have started applying the principles to my everyday life, which I find really helpful on a number of levels. I will definitely carry on learning about Buddhism and have signed up for a meditation course. I really recommend this course. :0)

4 Stars

06/04/2010 - Zoe

I really enjoyed this course as an introduction to Buddhism, and to the Buddhist Centre in Cambridge. I was nervous on my first evening, but was made to feel welcome from when I first stepped through the doors. I met some very nice people, and the teacher and helpers were very patient with all our questions. I enjoyed the mix of being taught, groupwork and some reflection-based work. I have booked straight onto my next course now as I enjoyed my Mondays nights at the Centre so much!

4 Stars

06/04/2010 - Timothy Siney

The right pace for the absolute beginner.

5 Stars

20/10/2009 - Charlie

This was a very informative and well structured course conducted in a friendly and relaxed way. The teacher and support leading the group were extremely open and approachable and endeavoured to answer any questions (of which there were many) thoroughly, leading to some instructive, enjoyable debate and considered points of view. Obviously this is a vast subject to cover in six weeks but I would recommend this course to anyone who was interested in an initial grounding in Buddhism.

5 Stars

20/10/2009 - Vicki Griffiths

I thought Sagaraghosa was very, very good at explaining the basic concepts and showed a lovely patience and humour with us beginners.

Only complaint was that the course was too short and seemed to pass so fast.

5 Stars

23/02/2009 - Will Pitt

I enjoyed the course very much. The overall effect was to demystify some aspects of Buddhism but it was also a very pleasant way to send Monday evenings.

4 Stars

20/02/2009 - richard porch

A very good introduction to the subject. Well thought through approach and delivery.

4 Stars

20/02/2009 - Dave

It was very different to reading about buddhism from a book in that I felt that I really enjoyed and benefited from the experience of learning about buddhism in a group.

5 Stars

20/02/2009 - Lucy

This was an informative and relaxed introductory course which I enjoyed attending. I thought the openness and honesty of our teacher was refreshing, when we live in a world full of 'closed' religions. I would recommend this course to those who would like an overview of Buddhism, it provides an interesting insight into what is in my opinion a good an honorable way of living your life.

5 Stars

20/02/2009 - Emma

I would certainly recommend this course to anyone with little or no knowledge of Buddhism. It is great as an introduction and definately stirred my interest enough to make me want to take it further and learn about Buddhism in more detail and the practice of meditation.

5 Stars

29/10/2008 - Mary Wild

I found the course clear, inspiring and highly enjoyable. It set out the basics of Buddhism and the methods used were very appropriate, making the two hour sessions (plus 30 min teabreak) seem much shorter. Thank you to Sagaraghosa and the other team members for helping to make this a great group experience.

5 Stars

24/10/2008 - Jessica Jackson

Gently and carefully explained; terrific handouts; variation and personal views provided by the team members were much appreciated; thorougly enjoyable.

4 Stars

24/10/2008 - Nicky Morrison

I enjoyed the course v much - a lot preparation and thought went into the talk and very good use of hand outs. I had not expected the course to have such direct relevance to every day life and I enjoyed this aspect very much. It was very thought provoking and the group exercise enjoyable. Also I was always surprised that after the tea break the momentum and interest never waned. the use of helpers was also very good as they often gave another invaluable perspective. Thanks very much - am definitely thinking about doing level 2. my only problem was my own teaching load kicked in at the end of this course so was tired at this time of day. but usually came away energised and thinking about the course days after. I plan to look through the material in more detail shortly and find the library at the centre very good to borrow books and dip into different ones without committing to buying any.

best wishes and here's to mindfulness - daily

4 Stars

24/10/2008 - Tim

I thought the course was very good. It covered the basics well and led to much discussion. I met some wonderful like minded individuals. Would thoroughly recommend to others seeking a basic grounding in the subject. I will be coming back for more...

5 Stars

18/07/2008 - kim

I found this class to be insightful in providing a fundamental understanding of Buddhism. Also reading was recommended to support topics discussed in the group. I mostly enjoyed the meetings for the down to earth discussion, relaxed atmosphere and meditation.

5 Stars

15/04/2008 - Lester Robinson

Great Start to a fascinating Subject.

5 Stars

19/02/2008 - Helen Heath

Really enjoyed the mixed group of people and the hospitality given by the Centre. The information certainly provided me with a basic insight and time to reflect.

5 Stars

19/02/2008 - David Flatman

I would have liked 10 minutes meditation each evening. I think it might be a good way for people to experience meditating together

5 Stars

05/03/2007 - jacqueline

I thoroughly enjoyed this introductory course. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. I will certainly take further courses at CBC. I recommend the course to anyone who wishes to find out more about Buddhism.

5 Stars

02/03/2007 - John Turner

Excellent course. Covered a range of topics in an informative and engaging manner. Encouraged participation and thoughts from all group members. The slightly unstructured approach took some getting used to, but proved to be a bonus in the end - maybe it's the path rather than the destination that is most valuable!

4 Stars

28/02/2007 - linda appleby

nice time. Perhaps slightly large group. Wasn't demanding; in fact, could have done with a bit more content. But only a bit.

4 Stars

26/01/2007 - Chantel Preston

Really enjoyed the course. Nice friendly group that made each evening enjoyable. It was great that the ratio of staff to students was high, as that meant small group discussions
were informative and well led.
Only negative was that sometimes the classes felt a little unstructured regarding the content.

5 Stars

26/01/2007 - Jan Roberts

Very informative - a good overview. Small group discussions very interesting.
Info. sheets to accompany evenings very helpful.

5 Stars

24/01/2007 - Daphne Astor

Excellent teachers and range of subject matter covered to a good place for Level 1. A close group feeling and a carefully chosen number of participants.