Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Yoga Level 1 Course - 10 weeks - Monday

5 Stars

04/04/2017 - Alexandra Grigore

The course is really good for anyone who wants to do yoga for more than just a simple exercising activity. The class is slower than usual yoga classes, but very detailed and the technique is explained properly. The teacher also takes time to understand everyone's injury and ability and tailors the class accordingly. I would say it's a mix of yoga, physiotherapy and mindfulness, really hollistic and wonderful.

5 Stars

03/04/2017 - Nicki

Have booked this course for the 3rd time now, this should say more than words....
Shuddhasara is (a difficult name) amazing, her kind of yoga does wonders and I will just continue.

5 Stars

19/07/2016 - Juliet

I was new to yoga and not entirely sure that my stiff 50+ body would be up to the challenge, but I have thoroughly enjoyed Shudhasara's beginners course and am about to book again. Her style is positive, humorous and down to earth and all abilities (and bodies!) are both catered for and encouraged. If you are willing to work hard and enjoy a challenge then book this course- it will change how you feel about (and understand) your body, and will enhance your sense of health and well being.

5 Stars

04/01/2015 - Kristine

I think the course is incredibly encouraging and very well thought!

5 Stars

04/04/2014 - Louise

I've now done three terms of this course over the last year or so, and I can honestly say, I have benefited in some way from each and every session. Shuddhasara is incredibly knowledgeable and a great yoga teacher.

5 Stars

28/12/2013 - Denise

My first attempt at a Yoga class and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Shudassara is a great teacher. Her style, her humour and down to earth approach help you to feel completely at ease. I missed the last few sessions but am really looking forward to starting again in the New Year. I would highly recommend this class

3 Stars

16/12/2013 - Mary

I was really enjoying the course when, at session 3, I overstretched an already weak ligament at the back of my left knee. As a result I was limping for 3 weeks and decided yoga is not for me although a much less strenuous class may possibly be more suitable as I was enjoying it so much and wouldn't mind trying again!

4 Stars

05/04/2013 - Dan Thomas

Sadly, due to illness, I was unable to attend the latter part of the course. However the sessions I was able to attend were excellently taught by a knowledgeable teacher who took the time to work with students on their individual needs as well as developing the skills of the group.

Really enjoyable, I hope at some point to be able to finish what I started

5 Stars

24/04/2012 - susan

A superb course, Shuddhasara is an amazing teacher, always full of energy and makes every class dynamic and interesting. The centre itself is a very welcoming environment.

5 Stars

18/12/2011 - susan

Really good. Total beginner and have learned a lot. Shuddhasara is the best teacher I have ever had for anything!

5 Stars

16/12/2011 - Kerstin

Shuddasara is one of the best, if not the best Yoga teacher I ever had - and I have been doing Yoga for years. Going back to Level 1 due to time issues was very useful, as it allowed me to revisit aspects of the work, I often 'forgot' to pay attention to. If you are a beginner or advanced, any class with Shuddasara will be beneficial!

5 Stars

12/12/2011 - Jan

Shuddhasara's course is excellent. She pushes you quite hard, and usually goes 15 minutes over the allotted time. It has done me a lot of good.

5 Stars

08/04/2011 - Graham

I found this course both more demanding and more rewarding than I anticipated. Shuddhasara will s-t-r-e-t-c-h you in ways you might not have expected.

4 Stars

05/04/2011 - Helen

I found this course hard as I had never done any thing like it before. However I felt I was in safe hands: the teaching was very clear and Shuddhasara is supportive and responsive to individual needs.

5 Stars

28/12/2010 - Beka

An excellent introduction to yoga, with consideration taken of individual needs and strengths, a massive improvement on generic sports centre 'classes' I have been to, with knowledge building up week on week so students have an understanding of the principles of yoga.

5 Stars

25/12/2010 - Barbora

The course provides unique opportunity to learn the technique of yoga. The teacher is very skilled, treats everybody as an individual with their abilities and illnesses, corrects and adjusts all postures. I have been doing the course for two terms. I can see that the exercises benefit to my health (back problems, incorrect posture) both immediatelly and long term. Yoga in the Buddhist Centre is one of my best experiences on my stay in Cambridge.

4 Stars

24/12/2010 - tricia

I found the course really encouraging - I am a stiff beginner with some joint problems! You get a fair bit of individual attention to help you with the postures, and I noticed a definite difference in my body from doing the yoga.

5 Stars

23/12/2010 - susan de obaldia

I enjoyed the course immensley, Shuddasara is very dedicated and cares about her students

5 Stars

28/07/2008 - Anna Chell

Excellent, once I'd got the hang of making changes to some of the poses to suit my body type.

5 Stars

22/07/2008 - Kamonwan Chokthaweechok

It was great! too bad I was pretty busy I skipped so many classes. However, I found it very useful. Thank you.

3 Stars

15/07/2008 - Sarah O'Meara

This course is good for those coming back to yoga or wishing to unlearn bad habits. However it is not recommended for true beginners who need guiding into the subject.

5 Stars

17/03/2008 - Zoe Austin

Shuddhasara is an excellent teacher and I consider myself very fortunate to be able to attend her classes. She really knows her stuff and, unlike with yoga lessons I have attended elsewhere in the country, I can feel the benefit of the practice which I am beginning to learn. I cannot think of any way in which I would like the classes (which I have been attending for 4 terms now) to be improved and I can't imagine finding a better teacher!

5 Stars

17/03/2008 - Nicola

I cannot praise the Level 1 yoga class with Shuddhasara enough. It is intensive and hard work but the rewards are amazing. Shuddhasara is an excellent teacher, incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. These classes have been a pleasure and I would highly recommend them.

5 Stars

03/03/2008 - Leigh McClelland

I recommend this course whole-heartedly. I felt enormous benefit in mind and body from Shuddhasara's teaching and continue to attend her level 2 class. Classes are always popular so sign up early to avoid disappointment!

5 Stars

30/07/2007 - Becky Wieczorek

The class was brilliant and paced just right for beginners and those who had taken yoga classes previously. I thought the teacher was excellent and very patient when showing us how to practice the positions.

5 Stars

28/07/2007 - Vajrapriya

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Prasadamati worked well with all the members of the group, giving us support relevant to our abilities / bodies and encouraging us to go that little bit further where possible.

5 Stars

17/07/2007 - Morag Walker

An amazing course and a great teacher.

5 Stars

29/05/2007 - Joy Haughton

I have been attending the Level 1 Yoga classes for a year and feel they have given me an excellent grounding in Iyengar yoga, which has helped me to develop greater flexibility, a better awareness of my own body (it's capabilities and limitations!) and a wonderful route to relaxation. Highly recommended!

5 Stars

23/05/2007 - Sandra Jackson

Shuddhasara has an amazing knowledge of Yoga and she is able to share this with all her students. Her classes are never dull as she works with her students to create a session that reflects their individual needs and abilities. Her unique teaching style involves both critical observation and praise, which can be quite motivating when trying to learn a challenging Yoga pose.