Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction Day

5 Stars

15/11/2017 - Nikki

A space of calm stillness in a frantic world. Thank you.

5 Stars

15/11/2017 - Kathy

Having first taken MBSR in 2012, and then again in 2015, it was time for a top-up in 2017. This time I joined the group for "returners" in the Lower Shrine Room. Sagaraghosa treated us to a tranquil day of meditations, interspersed with beautiful and relevant poems. We "revised" the concept of the three modes of brain activity. I now intend to "notice what colour the mind is" as part of my ongoing practice.

4 Stars

14/11/2017 - Claire Goldby

although initially I found it difficult not too talk as I do it for a living, I did enjoy a whole day of peace and quiet. it gave me time to reflect.

5 Stars

14/11/2017 - anonymous

well balanced structure and a chance to expand on practice covered on rest of course.

5 Stars

28/06/2017 - Cathy Aynsley

A very good day to re-start mindfulmess techniques which have lapsed.

5 Stars

27/06/2017 - HiIlary Glasscock

Another excellent day. Very beneficial and enjoyable.

4 Stars

27/06/2017 - Nigel

The course has been valuable! The course leaders have been supportive and sympathetic. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

5 Stars

27/06/2017 - Sarah Davie

Such a wonderful day. I gained so much out of the practice and it has reignited my enjoyment of mindfullness. Sharing the experience in a group setting was so beneficial.

5 Stars

26/06/2017 - Mike Philpott

The Mindfulness-based Stress reduction day was excellent. The structure and the fact we were involved in a number of different practices interspersed with poetry was very enjoyable. This really reflects my opinion of the whole course. It has been totally worthwhile and a really informative course

5 Stars

26/06/2017 - Kelly

I came on the refresher day to reinvigorate my practice and it didn't disappoint. A well structured and informative day led by fantastically supportive teachers.

5 Stars

10/04/2017 - Alistair

Fantastic course. To engage with it properly definitely means putting a good amount of time in, but incredibly worth it.

5 Stars

27/03/2017 - Anne Martin

This day was very beneficial in establishing my practise and realising the importance of making time for myself.

5 Stars

21/03/2017 - Peter McKenna

This MBSR -day more than lived up to all expectations.

5 Stars

16/03/2017 - Thomas Marty

I thoroughly enjoyed the day which I thought was facilitated brilliantly. There was time and space and the work.
Things dropped into place for me on a number of issues which I was extremely grateful for. The staff are always excellent and very approachable on any level.
A thoroughly wonderful experience. Thank you.

5 Stars

15/03/2017 - Gerry

A good, silent day. A chance to practice without interruption.

3 Stars

15/03/2017 - Maggie Johnson

I enjoyed the meditations and the silence. I had been concerned about being with a larger group with many strangers but the others seemed very nice. I found the inactivity difficult as I like to be active. Going for a walk along the river at lunchtime helped. I was exhausted at the end of the day.

5 Stars

14/03/2017 - Juana

I found it very helpful. I really enjoyed it. I strongly recommend it.

5 Stars

19/11/2016 - Beata

I enjoyed the Mindfulness course very much, despite feeling a bit apprehensive before starting it. It helped me to stay calm, respond rather than react and gave me new tools that I can use in my daily life when I feel stressed/tired or overwhelmed.
The mindfulness day was brilliant, because it brought together all the practices we have learned during the 8 week course. I felt very calm and energised the next few days. Highly recommended.

5 Stars

16/11/2016 - Heidi Solberg ├śkland

The whole-day mindfulness session was a very good experience. I was a bit curious about what it would feel like to be silent for the whole day, but it was actually a bit of a relief not having to engage in small-talk. Instead, I was able to more fully engage with my own experience. I found the meditation sessions really good - I liked how poems were used as intros/bridges between the different meditations, and there was sufficient variation for it to remain interesting at the same time as allowing for a deeper practice than my usual day-to-day. Afterwards I also felt more motivated to practice at home. I'd happily attend more of these in the future.

5 Stars

14/11/2016 - Kelly

A wonderful day. Ruchi led a fantastic experience and it was in the most wonderful of settings.

5 Stars

14/11/2016 - Dawn McLean

A peaceful day well orchestrated for the number of people involved that was well balanced between teaching and practice. Really enjoyed the theatre and the underfloor heating. Thank you the care in preparation and sensitive delivery of MBSR practices.

5 Stars

14/11/2016 - Ian Felce

I think the all day is an excellent thing to help you deepen your Mindfulness practice and Cambridge Buddhist Centre is an excellent place to do it. It is run with a lot of care but is also practical and straightforward

5 Stars

14/11/2016 - Nicola McLean

Sagaraghosa was a great guide through the session refreshing meditation techniques but also added a different dimension to the session with the last meditation around thinking of others. I enjoyed the mindfulness rest too! I felt very refreshed at the end of the day. Thanks

5 Stars

11/07/2016 - Rob Laycock

This is the 2nd time I have done a practice day, 18 months after doing the MBSR course.

It felt much easier this time round, but that might be what 18 months of practice does for you!!), it also seemed to pass much quicker. Excellently led by Ruchi, it does feel like a self indulgent way to spend a day, but it was very useful!! I am shortly to move to the Peak District, but I shall be travelling back to do these days....

5 Stars

08/07/2016 - Maibritt Shah

A great day which I can't wait to repeat in November. Everything came together, staying silent was a real treat and it did cause a few realisations, which helped me move forwards in terms of mindfulness.

5 Stars

08/07/2016 - Hilary Heath

This course has been a real help and I feel that I am really starting to embed mindfulness into my every day. Ruchi and sagaragosha were both brilliant course leaders. I feel more energised. I would live to do this all over again!

5 Stars

16/03/2016 - Holly

A wonderful opportunity to re-encounter the familiar exercises, with the fresh addition of lovely poetry to inspire! A real re-charge to one's practice!

5 Stars

14/03/2016 - Vickie Brown

A really great day, reboosting my MBSR practice. I found going back over the meditations really helpful as it is easy to either slide or lose motivation in practicing the meditations.

Furthermore, being back in a group really boosted my energy as well as reminded me just how helpful this course has been.

So....Personally, I found the day extremely useful and look forward to attending my next day.

5 Stars

08/03/2016 - Margaret Ashcroft

Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable day. I learnt new valuable skills in mindfulness, which has led to greatly benefiting my home practice and expand my ability to apply what I have already learned in class thus far. The workshop was energising, and helped me consolidate a stronger foundation (and understanding) in applying the mindfulness skills in routine daily life. Since the workshop, I have accessed more reading material and videos recommended by Ruchi. Thank you

4 Stars

08/03/2016 - Cathy Aynsley

It was a good day to refresh my memory and activities of mindfulness and meditation. Having been rather lapse in carrying out the exercises I found the complete day of silence quite difficult - but that was my fault not yours.

4 Stars

07/03/2016 - Jacqui

I really enjoyed giving myself permission to spend a whole day practicing mindfulness, I had no idea what to expect, I can honestly say I found it a hugely beneficial exercise. I would encourage others to take up mindfulness.

5 Stars

07/03/2016 - Helen Heath

Venue & Room excellent
warm floor very much appreciated
breaks were held at appropriate times
facility of tea & coffee appreciated .... fully enjoyable .... Thank you

5 Stars

07/03/2016 - Marie

It was a great day, with several meditation practices and other exercises, in a splendid setting. The fact that the day was spent in silence was also fantastic. If you haven't already, I would recommend you to try.

5 Stars

07/03/2016 - Adrian du Plessis

The day was planned as a refresher for people who had done the full Mindfulness-based stress reduction course.
It was very well led and well thought out. We went through various practices aimed at improving awareness - all very well worth doing and the course has certainly reawakened my interest and reminded me how useful the original course was.

5 Stars

07/03/2016 - L Broad

Very worthwhile coming back for this day. As a shy person I find it Interesting that I find it more difficult to stay silent than struggling to think of something to say to people I've never met before!

5 Stars

07/03/2016 - david Lynch

Excellent teaching by Sagaraghosa, enhanced with references to psychology, poetry and a generous heart.

5 Stars

07/03/2016 - Moragh

A great experience. It felt like a holiday from the stresses of the outside world. Ruchi makes the course fun as well as interesting. The day brought all the practices together in a wonderful setting.
The day has renewed my energy for life and remaining in the moment we are in. Great

5 Stars

05/04/2015 - Ali Haddock

A really enjoyable day, well-thought out and executed. Can't think of any way to improve.

5 Stars

31/03/2015 - Janet

A well guided and peaceful oasis of calm away from the busy-ness of normal life.

5 Stars

18/03/2015 - Simon Mills

It was rather a treat to spend much more of the day than I normally would in meditation. Ruchi is a great leader for the sessions, being so friendly and informative. His expansive knowledge of how the mind works is very impressive and is helpful in understanding your own thinking patterns.

5 Stars

14/03/2015 - Bronwen

A really good day, would highly recommend it.

5 Stars

13/03/2015 - Rosie

An excellent day. Well organised, and a chance to spend a quiet, really useful, mindful day. Really helps to deepen understanding of what the course has been teaching

5 Stars

13/03/2015 - John Briggs

I really enjoyed the experience. It was a completely new experience for me to spend six hours in silence. I didn't find the silence difficult the than at lunch time when it would have been very easy to ask someone to pass the milk, or say sorry for getting in someones way.

3 Stars

10/03/2015 - Deborah Bateman

I wasn't able to attend this event, but I have been attending the MBSR Wednesday evening course. I decided to leave the course before the last few sessions because I simply couldn't get on with the voice on the soundtracks used for home practice. I found the voice of the teacher quite grating, and I also didn't feel that Sarah, although a lovely lady, was confident or experienced enough to be co-leading a course of this type.
Also half the participants all worked at the same school, which made the course feel rather 'clicky'. Not a good idea, surely, to have such a large proportion of people all from the same workplace, particularly as they were only (or mainly) there because the school had suggested they do the course; it didn't feel as though they were there particularly for personal reasons in the way that most of the rest of us were.
Finally, the course had a rather 'hippy dippy' element to it at times, for instance the going round to room saying our names and then having them repeated back to us by the group..this was cringe-worthy to the extreme :(
I hope you will find this review helpful in setting up the new MBSR courses, and I do nevertheless thank Ruchi and Sarah for the hard work that I know they put in. Just needs a little tweaking perhaps.

5 Stars

10/03/2015 - Michael

Enjoyable and enlightening

5 Stars

07/01/2015 - candice

This was a wonderful class. A lot of very helpful tools to take away and enjoy your life to the fullest.

5 Stars

03/12/2014 - Clare Moore

A very well run, clear practice day. Enjoyable.

5 Stars

27/11/2014 - david lynch

Sgaraghosa's facilitation of the programme was excellent, a skilled balance of group leadership and the holding of wounded hearts.

4 Stars

24/11/2014 - anonymous

Very peaceful and enjoyable day with a lovely venue. Only downside was feeling slightly uncomfortable with the enforced silence. Something I need to get used to maybe.

4 Stars

24/11/2014 - Sue Petri

I found the larger group a little daunting at first and it took some time to settle. The content and the experiences of the day were quite unique, and although tired by the end it was a welcome, relaxed tiredness. The silence was very different at refreshment time but nice not to have to make conversation. A peaceful and gentle day that we rarely, if ever, get!

4 Stars

24/11/2014 - Frances Dewhurst

I found the day interesting and refreshing. I find the hum from a fan in the room intrusive.

5 Stars

19/06/2014 - David Levitt

I was not able to attend the mindfulness day at the end of my MBSR course earlier in the year, so was very pleased to have the opportunity to attend this day. I found the day very enjoyable. I have meditated daily since attending the course, so did not feel I needed this day as reinforcement, but just simply as something I would enjoy. The day was very well structured and I appreciated all of the meditation practices. I thought that Sagaraghosa led the course extremely well.

5 Stars

20/03/2014 - Charles Mather

Very good day. The practices were very helpful, and the silent lunch period kept me focused. Thank you.

5 Stars

18/03/2014 - Lizzie

A lovely day sharing this peaceful space with others. I really value this opportunity to reconnect with Mindfulness.

5 Stars

18/03/2014 - philip milbank

these days are great. loved it. will definitely try and attend these regularly.

5 Stars

18/03/2014 - Adrian du Plessis

It was a wonderful experience. Very well organised and led.
Good content.
Good group of people.
Good food.
I am delighted to have been part of it.

5 Stars

18/03/2014 - Amber

Excellent day. Well organised. Plenty of variation and changing of position (lying, sitting, standing, walking). Good to meet other participants and to have a full day away from the "noise" of everyday life.

4 Stars

17/03/2014 - Anne

The only reason I rated this day less than excellent was because I found it a little too intense. I enjoyed the morning, however I found the afternoon difficult as I had reached saturation point by then.

5 Stars

17/03/2014 - Fiona

The day was a revelation! I really enjoyed it. The silence made it incredibly relaxing and thought provoking (against my expectations). A day to completely look after myself - what a rare opportunity. Thank you to those that ran the day and the 9 week course.

5 Stars

17/03/2014 - Sue Ullstein

An excellent day as always - thank you, Sagaraghosa. It was very good to reconnect with group practice and have time to absorb the benefits of MBSR.

5 Stars

29/11/2013 - Vanessa Ross

This was a refresher for me which was most useful. I enjoyed revisiting the practices, even the one I had previously disliked which I did enjoy (body scan). I shall come again.

4 Stars

26/11/2013 - Frances

Very good. But the room has a rather irritating noise maybe from the plumbing in the toilet.

5 Stars

04/05/2013 - Jessica Wardill

I found this a very profound learning experience, both at the time and after the day itself. In my experience, it deepens your understanding and practice, not necessarily in ways you expect. It was excellently facilitated by Ruchiraketu. I would highly recommend anyone doing the 8 week course to attend this day.

5 Stars

27/03/2013 - Hermione

I have found myself to be really benefitting from a subtle shift in the way I relate to my thoughts. A really inspiring teacher and much interesting input from the group. Short daily meditations seem to have become a part of life. Thank you Ruchi and the cambridge Buddhist Centre

4 Stars

20/03/2013 - Linda Leon

Well planned with mixture of exercises. It is impossible to do everything in one day, but I would have enjoyed a minimum of an hour sitting in total silence (apart from lunch which involved "doing").

5 Stars

19/03/2013 - Hazel Edwards

I absolutely loved this day. It was exceptional and really aded value to the already excellent rest of the course. The opportunity for extended supervised mindfulness practice with the others in the group worked beautifully for me. I got so much out of it. The setting, in the theatre, was lovely.But if I did it again I'd go out at lunchtime and freshen up in the air down by the river, to have the flow of the water too. I'd love the opportunity to do this regularly, say every 4-6 weeks? Could we maybe..please??...

5 Stars

19/03/2013 - Lucy

An excellent introduction to Mindfulness. A careful, comprehensive and balanced guide. Highly recommended.

5 Stars

19/03/2013 - katherine smith

This was another excellent day of practice. The day course was very well run and was an opportunity to reaffirm mindfulness practice after doing the course in November. I would certainly recommend it and will make every effort to go regularly to these days

5 Stars

18/03/2013 - Lizzie

Being given 'permission' to be silent for the entire day was a refreshing experience! The feeling of communality within the group was as uplifting as the personal peace I felt by the end of a day so inspiringly led by Ruchirakatu.

5 Stars

18/03/2013 - ,maggie craig

Absolutely fabulous course; sound, superbly presented and immensely helpful. Gave me the support and guidance to slowly become more compassionate towards myself. I'm very grateful.

4 Stars

18/03/2013 - Andy Blackford

A terrific day - the time flew by as we practised most of the techniques we'd encountered during the course. Good to practise with the other group, too - 'strangers' added a different dynamic to the group. Ruchiraketu was tireless and inspiring as usual.

5 Stars

18/03/2013 - Sue Ullstein

It was a really good day. I've done one before with Sagaraghosa so I knew it would be good. The group was particularly nice and sensitive. It was just what I needed to improve my practice. Thank you!

5 Stars

18/03/2013 - Kathrin Hicks

I regularly attend these days because I find them a great way to keep my daily meditation practice fresh. THis one was no exception. Thank you!

4 Stars

18/03/2013 - Anonymous

Ruchi is excellent and holds a group together with ease. I found the theatre crowded with all the other people there and not just "my" group.

3 Stars

18/03/2013 - Terry Clough

A refreshing day lead with a light but 'structured' touch. Not entirely comfortable though with the silence at lunch time - would prefer to have 'compared notes' / experiences with others. And just socialised.

5 Stars

27/11/2012 - Anonymous

A great day, well paced and balanced. The main challenge was preparing for and then making the transition back to the stresses that had been left at the door.

4 Stars

25/11/2012 - Vanessa

I was nervous about the event as I wasn't sure about a whole day of meditation practices but it was good and I really enjoyed the day. I did not feel pressurised at any time and felt relaxed and refreshed at the end of the day.

5 Stars

23/11/2012 - Sue Ullstein

It was an excellent day with a useful theme (broadening experience). I was very glad to reconnect with my MBSR practice which had dropped off a bit in the last few months.

5 Stars

22/11/2012 - Sharon Lunn

I think everyone should do this course it was excellent.

5 Stars

21/11/2012 - Diana

I was apprehensive about spending a whole day meditating, and silent. The day flew. The following day my whole being was filled with mindfulness and calm, which I hope will continue, as I keep practicing the meditations we have been taught. I love the poems read between the meditations.

5 Stars

20/11/2012 - Jilly Hall

A really excellent day with lots of time to practice - and 'space' to learn

5 Stars

19/11/2012 - Sharon Burrows

So liberating not to have to talk and just take time to look after ones-self. I have had experience with the love and kindness meditation from the Thursday evening drop in sessions and found it to be very powerful and effective. It real does work. Thank you for such a wonderfully calm and serene day. Looking forward to the next retreat.

4 Stars

19/11/2012 - Frances Dewhurst

A very helpful reminder of some of the key elements of Mindfulness.

5 Stars

19/11/2012 - Martin Clarke

A much welcome time and space to practice being mindful.

5 Stars

19/11/2012 - Tim

Having the opportunity to spend a day practicing the mediation techniques we have learnt on the MBSR proved to be an inspiring and essential part of the course. I would recommend anyone with an interest in MBSR to attend a course at the Cambridge Buddhist Centre as it provides a friendly atmosphere with supportive course leaders.

5 Stars

19/11/2012 - Carole

A well organised day. Having done the course earlier in the year I found this day helped to remind me of the benefits I had gained from doing the course. I felt a renewed energy
and more in control of my life.
Thank you

5 Stars

19/11/2012 - katherine smith

It was an excellent day - well organised and structured and very enjoyable.

4 Stars

19/11/2012 - anonymous

This day was an integral part of the ten-week Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction Coutse, and happened just over half-way through. It provided a haven of quietness in which to continue with the practices that we have begun to learn, alongside those who have been companions in this journey: students and our wise, sharing teachers The quietness, tthe practices, the companions - you all offer such riches.

5 Stars

19/11/2012 - Nicole

The silence at lunchtime was amazing, comfortable and comforting. Really good experience, and good practice to have such a solid block of meditation. I struggled finding time for practising at home. I'd like to do it again.

3 Stars

26/06/2012 - Art Blokland

I found the morning unstructured. It seemed to be like 'now you do this, now you do that, now you do the other.' The afternoon was focused on kindness, and felt more satisfying.

5 Stars

04/04/2012 - Andrew

I thoroughly enjoyed the Pracice Day. The fact that it was a quiet day hugely enhanced its value for me and I think that largely as a result I came away from it feeling relaxed and peaceful. It gave me a taste of how my internal life could be less frenetic if I built into my routine some more regular times of wordless quiet! It also highlighted for me how many of us in our culture subject our minds to a state of chronic sensory overload with all the negative effects for our emotional health which flow from that.

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - Amanda Platt

I thought the day went incredibly fast and all the things we did were enjoyable and thought provoking.

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - Ann Hislop

An interesting and challenging day. To give it a star rating would I think be contrary to the ethos of the Day -the Day is what it is for me and that will be different from what the Day means to others !

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - Annie McKinney

An illuminating day.
The meditation excercises and other material were really well presented. I loved the poems. The time flew by and the silent tea break and lunch hour allowed me space to just be.Thank you.

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - Claire Desborough

I attended this as part of the MBSR course, and found it fantastic. It really highlighted what the course is all about, and the potential benefits of being more "mindful". I cannot remember the last time my life was as peaceful as still as I felt during the course of the day (and for sometime afterwards). I am now determined to bring some of this mindfulness to my everyday life, and would highly recommend this day to anyone who suffers from stress or anxiety. Also, I would love to attend another MBSR day in the future.

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - jacquie

I enjoyed saturday very much. I came away feeling that I had come to know myself as a 'friend'.

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - Lawrence Hopkins

This was a most enjoyable and beneficial day. It was extremely well organised and Ruchiraketu and Vajradevi led it with sensitivity, humour and a deep understanding of the work. It gave me the opportunity really to focus on myself, and the regimen of silence very much helped facilitate this. Thank you!

4 Stars

12/03/2012 - Frances Dewhurst

I found it very intense and quite hard work. Enjoyed exploring the silence. I really noticed the difference next day when I felt quite different, calmer and more in tune with the world around me.

5 Stars

15/11/2010 - Nathalie Signeux

I thoroughly enjoyed the day which allowed me to consolidate and further explore Mindfulness practice. The practices were varied , well-paced and lead extemely professionally.
As a "new comer" spending most of the day silent impacted deeply on me.
I am looking forward to a similar event on your website.
Thank you for making me feel welcome.

5 Stars

19/03/2010 - Jean Parker

A lovely day, peaceful and friendly and very well led.

4 Stars

12/03/2010 - Juliet Adams

Really enjoyed the day - A good tutor and a great mindfulness refresher

4 Stars

11/11/2009 - Lynda.Burchell

Enjoyable morning apart from the room was too cold initially. I had to leave early due to dog minding problem.

5 Stars

02/03/2009 - Peter

I really appreciated the chance to attend to my own thoughts and feelings with detachment in such a supportive environment. The day was very well led and organised.

5 Stars

02/03/2009 - Abigail James

I have attended the MBSR days since completing my course in 08. I consistently gain from this refresher. Each time there are new insights from the teachers and the attendees - and it's good to be with like-minded people again.

5 Stars

27/11/2008 - Val Lanagan

This was a wonderful day - very well facilitated in a kindly and gentle way. Although I have maintained mindfulness practices since completing the course last year, being with others in a similar situation was very inspiring and refreshing.

5 Stars

24/11/2008 - Kathy

Excellent day. Chris introduced different material and meditations. Good group discussion at the end. Highly recommended. Many thanks.

5 Stars

20/11/2008 - mary younger

The day was paced just right, it covered and consolidated all that we had learnt so far and encouraged further paractice. It was a really positive and supportive experience.

5 Stars

12/06/2008 - Robin

The day was an excellent opportunity to consolidate the practices learned on the course. It gave me a renewed sense of purpose and commitment to carry on with the practice.

5 Stars

09/06/2008 - Peter

Excellent opportunity to practise meditations learnt on the course, in a friendly and calm setting.

5 Stars

09/06/2008 - Kathy

An excellent day, giving me the opportunity to revisit meditations that I may not have practiced for a while. I found the poems particularly emotive, and the lovingkindness meditation very peaceful. I strongly recommend anyone who has undertaken a mindfulness course at any time, to attend these days.
Many thanks.

5 Stars

09/06/2008 - abigail james

Once again a wonderful day led by Ruchi. It was replenishing and certainly helps me get back in touch with myself. I love the whole day!

5 Stars

03/03/2008 - Kathy

I learnt a tremendous amount from the day, having completed an MBSR course last year with a different teacher.

It was good to revist different meditations, and at the same time gain a new dimension on an ongoing theme. The group were very friendly and welcoming.

Thank you so very much.