Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Tai Chi Practice Day

4 Stars

28/06/2017 - Ian

It was good to have more time dedicated to each exercise and the partner work was fun.
I had high expectations regarding lunch and I was not disappointed not

5 Stars

26/06/2017 - Yasemin Kor

Very enjoyable practice day.

5 Stars

26/11/2016 - Rob

A great day of stimulating tai chi practice - a friendly learning environment and a convivial lunch!

5 Stars

22/11/2016 - Yasemin Kor

It was very enjoyable. The first part was a good review and relaxation. The second part with partner work was challenging but educating. Great lunch and tea time!

5 Stars

01/07/2016 - Mike Shorten

A good, worthwhile day as part of our beginners course.

5 Stars

05/12/2014 - Paul Sharm

Ideal length of time for a Practice Day, especially for a beginner such as myself.

5 Stars

12/12/2013 - Suan Rowland

Well thought out, balanced range of exercises and partner work

5 Stars

19/03/2013 - Nick Wedgbury

I really enjoyed the extended session that let us get deeper into what we were doing. It was also great to have time at the tea breaks and lunch to talk to people from the class.

5 Stars

18/03/2013 - Suan Rowland

Really good day again. Some people found partner work at the end of the day hard on their legs. Possibly consider doing partner work a bit earlier?

5 Stars

04/12/2012 - Suan Rowland

Excellent day of Tai Chi, socializing and lunch!

5 Stars

04/12/2012 - Pam

A really good chance have extended practice whatever level you are at. There was a good balance of activities.

5 Stars

04/12/2012 - phil

This was probably my sixth tai chi practice day and was very good as usual. We were able to focus right in on some transitional movements as well as focussing on one or two of the five exercises. I had to miss the afternoon session unfortunately but not before we had shared a superb lunch.

4 Stars

09/07/2012 - Graham Hopkins

Very helpful.
Good to work with more experienced people.
Gave me a better understanding of what Tai Chi is about.

4 Stars

09/07/2012 - Lynda

A special day - a good chance to practice some new skills as well as refresh. Everyone was very welcoming making it suitable for all levels - thank you

5 Stars

09/07/2012 - Fiona Calver

As an student taking the beginners level the practice day was a great opportunity to learn more about the exercises practiced during the lessons. The session was taken at a gentle pace with lots of explanation and repetion of the movements to allow a greater understanding of the excercise and lots of guidance.

We had the opportunity to do some partner work and meet and practice with more experienced students. Lunch was very friendly and delicious. I feel I have benefited from the practice day and would recommend it to anyone considering it.

5 Stars

14/03/2012 - Phil Holloway

An excellent day all round (as ever). The excercises were well suited to both beginners and the the more experienced. And of course the lunch was great.

5 Stars

13/03/2012 - Edita

The change. During the practice teacher said that we might experience the change after the practice day. I smiled, of course, thinking that one day cannot make much of the change. But here is my change- usually I run in the morinings, so on Monday I went for a regular run- and here it goes- I ran feet hardly touching the ground, after 6k i felt like just started- no tiredness, same experience this morning...what can I say.. Thanks for the change!

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - Suan Rowland

Excellent day. Good opportunity to hone practice.

5 Stars

12/03/2012 - Mike

Another first class day cleverly adapted to be valuable for all and any levels of experience.

5 Stars

22/11/2011 - Iain Davidson

Good programme and very useful new excercises

5 Stars

22/11/2011 - Mike

Another excellent practice day. As usual a shrewd choice of exercises and partner work to bring benefit at every level and stage of experience. Clear and insightful leadership, in a friendly and supportive environment. Lucky us!

5 Stars

21/11/2011 - pam southworth

I could only stay for the morning session. It was, as always, well planned catering to all levels of ability.It is good to have time to practice and go into moves more deeply.

5 Stars

21/11/2011 - david thurman

Excellent content ; we could have done to have used the stage as well as the theatre floor- numbers attending made it difficult to practise the form.

5 Stars

21/11/2011 - Phil Holloway

These tai chi practice days really allow you to get under the skin of different aspects of the practice in a way that is not always possible in an evening session. Plus the shared lunch is always excellent and the company likewise.

5 Stars

21/11/2011 - Suan Rowland

Really good day, thank you

5 Stars

21/11/2011 - James Stedman

Had a great time. As a beginner, was able to consolidate work already done whilst having the space to try new exercises which added a layer of understanding and enjoyment to the practice. Lunch was great too! Highly recommended.

4 Stars

24/06/2011 - Jane Donaghy

Another enjoyable practice day. Excellent instruction, great company and good food -what more could you ask for!

4 Stars

23/06/2011 - Suan Rowland

The day was really helpful and enjoyable. More experienced partners would improve the free hands partner work.

4 Stars

22/06/2011 - Lindsey Hill

I love the practice days - i prefer sunday but no problem. As you know I find the partner work more difficult, i prefer the moving meditation elements of tai chi therefore i prefer the partner work to be broken up a bit more with finding your own space, even for just 15mins in between - we did from 11am onwards and it was an overload for me - others were fine so i may just go to half a session next time! but excellent day.

5 Stars

21/06/2011 - pam southworth

Although I couldn't stay for all of the day I still found it most beneficial.It just gives you more time to really focus on one element of the practice. As always a lot of thought goes into the content of the day and there is always something different.

5 Stars

21/06/2011 - david thurman

Varied and useful day with a lot of partner practice.

5 Stars

27/03/2011 - Patricia Knight

Really enjoyed the day, the bring and share was an wxcellent idea. Being a beginner it was good to just focus on a specific excercise/form in more dept giving me a much better understanding of what it is I am suppose to be doing.

5 Stars

26/03/2011 - pam

An excellent day. It is so useful to go through moves again as there is always something you can improve on. For the first time ever I "got" push hands!

5 Stars

25/03/2011 - Doug Williamson

I'd give it 12 stars.
Out of the maximum 5.

5 Stars

25/03/2011 - Roxana

I enjoyed the Practice Day very much. It has been run at a good pace and it encouraged more connection between group members through the shared lunch and the pair exercises. I've learned a few more names and what people do - it's nice. The teaching was, as ever, at a pleasant pitch, easy to follow, and attentive. If anything, I would have liked the session to be a bit longer but I enjoyed the fact that we exercised repeatedly the fragment of 'the form' that we learned up to that point which helped me learn it better - now I feel I have a good foundation and I can link the next bits fluently. I was also pleased to realise some of the wider applications that these exercises could have in everyday living. Overall, I'm very glad I took this course and I'm already recommending it to friends.

4 Stars

24/03/2010 - Elizabeth

Relaxing and friendly. Always learn something from the practice days even though spending a long time on a little thing can be a struggle.

5 Stars

24/03/2010 - Tim

Another wonderful day, which was also helped by some nice weather and a great lunch.

I think the day really works as an opportunity to spend a significant amount of time on some of the principles of Tai Chi. But, in addition the atmosphere is always really welcoming and friendly, so a great way for the people in the beginners group to get an insight into what the regulars class offers.

As for me, I have been going to these classes for over 4 years now and I just keep finding more and more to interest and motivate me with my practice. I would highly recommend the class to anyone who really wants to develop and understand what is meant by the principles of Tai Chi

5 Stars

23/03/2010 - Cassandra Manning

My son and I do Tai Chi together and we really enjoyed this work day. It was refreshing to start at the beginning of the day with lots of energy, instead of after work when I have less. Abhamayati is patient with everyone, whatever their level. It was a lovely social gathering, too, we took lunch and had a break in the morning. Both my own and my son's Tai Chi skills advanced this day, especially in terms of the form. I do Tai Chi to reduce stress and strengthen my legs, it is giving me both of these thing, and more. My son is learning to be more focused and improve his posture. HIghly recommended.

5 Stars

22/03/2010 - Mike

Well-conceived, balanced, and constructively supervised as always - and good social interaction too!

5 Stars

22/03/2010 - Graham

Another very friendly and relaxing day. Many thanks.

5 Stars

22/03/2010 - Uma

It was a very nice practice day, I feel I get similar benefits from my tai-chi and meditation practice, no wonder they call it moving meditation. Abhayamati is a excellent teacher he explains the intentions and motivation behind every simple move in Tai-chi very clearly.

5 Stars

22/03/2010 - pam southworth

An excellent day that catered for all levels of capability. It is good to have time to really cover things in depth. The pace is very relaxed and the food's good too!

5 Stars

22/03/2010 - anonymous

I have not been on a similar event, but I found the Tai Chi practice day very enjoyable.

5 Stars

06/07/2009 - Lynda Field

A wonderful uplifting experience and a great chance to get to know other participants - highly recommended!

5 Stars

30/06/2009 - Pam Southworth

As always just the right balance of activities. It's good to be able to spend more time on practice at a relaxed pace.The food was good too!

5 Stars

30/06/2009 - Graham

A very relaxed and friendly day.

5 Stars

21/04/2009 - Joan Hinde

an excellent day...good to have a long practice, with such a focussed group.

5 Stars

06/04/2009 - Elizabeth

The longer time really allows for some quality practice and development. A peaceful, reflective day - and excellent lunch!

4 Stars

16/12/2008 - Jane Donaghy

Very enjoyable - and have signed up to do another term.

5 Stars

11/12/2008 - Sally Radnor

I can only comment on the part for which I was present - the morning. Excellent opportunity to work at a time when I have more energy available (day, rather than evening). A good chance to consolidate practice so far, meet new students who have taken the practice further, and to share our sense of enthusiasm about tai chi and Abhayamati's sense of fun over a shared lunch.

5 Stars

31/03/2008 - Nicole

I found this day very useful for practising what we've learned in the introductory course. Also, it was good to see the more advanced Tai Chi students which generated motivation to continue with the course after the introductory 10 weeks have passed.

5 Stars

16/03/2008 - Liz Chapman

The practice days always have a different feel about them compared to the regular evening course sessions. We know that we have several hours to deepen our practice and that enables the practice to be done much more slowly and in depth and the mood of the class is often more focused as a result. I recommend these days both to new and more experienced students.

5 Stars

14/03/2008 - Robert

The practice day really helps me to better my technique and the atmosphere is great as well.

4 Stars

10/03/2008 - Paul Wiseman

Regarding the practice day yesterday, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was really useful to have more time to explore what I already knew in greater detail, and an introduction to partner work as well. I feel I have consolidated my existing knowledge, and have a greater understanding of the deeper principles of tai chi.

4 Stars

17/12/2007 - Suzanne Hawley

I have been thoroughly enjoying the tai chi class. Abhayamati is good about teaching to each student's level and about being available when you have questions or need help.
The transition from the beginner's to the regular's class was a little trying, as the teaching format was less structured. It took a couple lessons to realise that I needed some time with Abhayamati during each lesson to learn the next form and review what I had learned the week before. But when asked for it, A- was perfectly ready to be available for that.
Ah, I also often feel as though I could use more space - maybe split the class into 2 if it gets any bigger? Also, I would really like to attend a regular's class earlier in the evening. It's hard for me to always be able to attend the 8-9:30 class.
Thanks!
-Suzanne Hawley

5 Stars

04/12/2007 - ksenia germanovich

A good opportunity to pick up loose ends, re-examine the basics and take your practise that little bit further. - all at your own pace.

5 Stars

03/12/2007 - Dr Steve Griffiths

It was a really good day - it clarified a lot of stuff for me and it was good to meet others. My only concern is for the Regulars: I hope that they felt it good value and that they are not being 'held back' by having the Beginners with them? Other than that - Excellent...

5 Stars

03/12/2007 - Liz Chapman

I always find the Tai Chi Practice Days extremely beneficial for my practice, because having a bit more time to do the Five Exercises or the Form allows one to move a little deeper into the mind as well as the body.
The days are also an opportunity to work with others from different courses and to get to know them a bit as we share tea breaks and lunch together.

5 Stars

18/06/2007 - matthew simpson

A fantastic day.

5 Stars

27/03/2007 - liz chapman

I could only attend half the day this time, but have done full days in the past, and as always found it very good to have the extra time to deepen my practice on each of the different elements of Tai Chi that we do in the normal class. I often feel particularly good afterwards (physically tired, but mentally uplifted)

These days are usually very friendly with the lunch sharing and an opportunity to talk to the others in the group a bit more and get to know people better.

I would highly recommend to anyone who is following the course.

5 Stars

27/03/2007 - geertje anderson

The day was fabulous, the people wonderful and Abhayamati an excellent fun teacher. The fact that I was not as advanced as some didn't make any difference > we learn from eachother at all times > by teaching others we learn also.

The energy towards the end of the day was magic, and I smiled all the way home....

I especially liked the 'team work' which was not only enjoyable but so interesting too.

the lunch was lovely too. Very good idea to ask everyone to bring something to share, and everyone had made an effort. Excellent.

A really good day, thank you.

geertje