Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Happy Indeed We Live: Retreat for Mitras and Order Members

5 Stars

17/11/2017 - Lawrence

A very nourishing weekend contemplating Happiness with lovely folk from the Cambridge sangha.

5 Stars

14/11/2017 - Liz

I really enjoyed the retreat at the lovely Vajrasana and it was great to reconnect with the Cambridge sangha. The team leading were all great and it was nice to be on retreat with Aryajaya before she leaves for her now role. The food was fab and I really enjoyed the teachings and pujas. I took away
some useful tips to work with. It reminded me of the importance and great joy of being part of such a large and varied sangha.

5 Stars

14/11/2017 - Jeremy Peters

A richly fulfilling weekend where I felt the freedom to explore an aspect of the Dharma supported by inspirational talks, people, architecture and food

5 Stars

06/07/2014 - Eileen Merryweather

The weekend was amazing. The venue was very good, easy to get to, plenty of space outside and the shrine room was light and airy with enough room to enable me to alternate between chair and cushions. Highlight of course was Vessantara's teaching of tonglen, which has broadened my meditation experience profoundly and brought much more enjoyment to it. The one draw back - it was only a weekend! I would love to do it again, or even a day or an evening at the centre would be great.

5 Stars

19/06/2014 - Sue

I really enjoyed this retreat, allowing the insistence of habitual life to recede into the background and becoming aware of the infinite capacity of heartspace. A lovely journey with our precious Sangha, sadhu!

5 Stars

16/06/2014 - Sarah Ronaghan

Brilliant retreat. Vessantara is such an inspirational and motivational dharma teacher. We are so lucky to have him in our sangha. The retreat was very well organised - thank you all so much

5 Stars

16/06/2014 - ian atkinson

Hi excellent retreat thank you
metta ian

5 Stars

16/06/2014 - Rob Burgess

A wonderful retreat with excellent teaching: study and experience / meditation balanced perfectly. There had clearly been a lot of thought put into the smooth running of the retreat so praise to the team for that too. Thank you.

5 Stars

16/06/2014 - Lee Walford

Very good retreat which felt like play and fun - partly due to being with sangha members who I knew and/or had the chance to get to know better; a little bit due to the luxurious venue setting (The Dower House) and being able to camp; and not least due to the teacher, Vessantara, and his style and content of meditation teaching which I felt very in tune with - how to be open-hearted and receptive to the world, transcending our "little old me" selves.

5 Stars

26/05/2012 - Vessantara

It's funny to be asked for a review of something I led! So I'll just say that it was a real pleasure to return to Vajrasana after almost 5 years. I enjoyed my previous visits. Now, after five more years of people caring for it and practising meditation there, the facilities have improved, and the atmosphere has noticeably deepened.

Our weekend was very well organised, and I thoroughly enjoyed meditating and discussing with a smashing bunch of people. I really hope our paths cross in the future!

So, five stars for the place, the organisation and the sangha.

4 Stars

25/05/2012 - Vimalanath

It was fab and enjoyed,
thanks

5 Stars

25/05/2012 - Sarah Ronaghan

It was a lovely, relaxed retreat. Very well run and great food.
The led meditations & discussions were excellent and the last session was just beautiful - the loveliest ending to a retreat I've ever had. It left me very moved. Thank you Buddhist Centre Team :)

5 Stars

23/05/2011 - Miriam

Inspiring, magical creativity! Seamless and skillful weaving of dharma, action and meditation ... Inspired teaching, stunning location, safe and nurturing space ... superb sangha building - thank YOU everybody!

5 Stars

23/05/2011 - Nina Willis

Fantastic retreat with an amazing group of people. Very well led, excellently mixed with creativity and teachings. Highly reccommend!

5 Stars

11/01/2011 - Sabina

Very inspiring theme, teachings, and activities, not to mention the people, so it felt much longer than a weekend retreat.

5 Stars

19/11/2010 - Mark Dow

Another wonderful retreat, and I know that many benefits will flow from it! The balance of meditation, puja, silence, chatting with friends (old & new) workshops & exercises was just right....and I know I wasn't alone in finding the chanting experience a powerful & moving experience!

5 Stars

18/11/2010 - anonymous

The retreat was wonderful, it was great to go with other members of the Sangha. We did some beautiful chanting which I really enjoyed - I love the shrine room at Vajrasana, and the whole place actually, its very cozy and homely! Discussion and Study were great and helped me learn more about how to explore the tricky practice of metta!

5 Stars

17/11/2010 - Lynda Field

The whole thing was fabulous - brilliant structure to the weekend, wonderful people and amazing experiences throughout. As you can see I had a good time! 10/10

5 Stars

16/11/2010 - claire brown

A lovely weekend retreat with a good balance of meditation, puja, workshops and reflection.

5 Stars

15/11/2010 - Lee Walford

Very good retreat. I do feel "bathed in the love of Amitabha", following this retreat. If anything, probably stayed in the water too long as there were perhaps too many "goodies" on offer, in terms of the teaching, exercises and meditations that we undertook to develop metta, alongside the connections made with fellow sangha-members throughout the weekend. So was slightly overwhelmed by the end of it, but full of lots of tips to develop metta, and also lots of experiences of metta having arisen during the weekend.

5 Stars

15/11/2010 - Rob Mew

Wonderful sangha retreat, left me with a warm feeling, very encouraging and I learned something too!

5 Stars

22/06/2010 - Andy Blackford

The retreat was terrific - a beautiful place, a good and varied bunch of people and quietly inspiring leadership. The weekend seemed like a week (in the best possible way).

4 Stars

22/06/2010 - Richard Winter

I found the weekend challenging and illuminating, except for the 'stories' session.

5 Stars

22/06/2010 - eileen merryweather

An excellent weekend. Great opportunity to get to know people in the Sangha, who otherwise are just faces around the Centre.Relaxed atmosphere but a lot of helpful teaching from Vajradevi and team.

5 Stars

02/12/2009 - Tim

Very very good weekend, lovely people, gorgeous surroundings. Enjoyed the community spirit and the content was just right for me, a nice balance of formal meditation and exercises which prompted a deeper inner response. It has bought my meditation to a new level. Many thanks to all involved in organising this event and who attended making it such a special time.

4 Stars

30/11/2009 - Andreas

An excellent weekend retreat with many opportunities for going deeper in ones meditation and reflection practice in different ways. I particularly enjoyed the dialogue mini-workshops and the warm and friendly community atmosphere. I was pleased to be able to do many extended sits too.

5 Stars

01/07/2009 - suryamani (Ginny Layton)

definite strong sense of sangha. very relaxed alongside depth of practise.

5 Stars

30/06/2009 - Amarachandra

it was soo good to be on a Sangha retreat, as I haven't been on one for... quite a few years. And this one had so much momentum behind it because of the urban retreat. I heard many people say how much they enjoyed it - and how it 'grew' sangha connections. Vajradarshini has depth and lightness and was good at drawing on others so that we all felt involved. Food fabulous. Good idea to have just two meals on Saturday. thanks.

5 Stars

28/10/2008 - Bill Bryden

I found that the weekend was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The ingredients that came together to make it so was an excellent subject expertly led by Ruchiraketu, a great group of people, a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere in a very good setting in the Suffolk countryside.

4 Stars

24/04/2008 - mij wilkinson

An excellent weekend which 'did what it said on the can'. There was a lovely atmosphere, and the teachers were able to answer questions on various levels deopending on the understanding of the student.The material needed much longer than the weekend and left me wanting more.The leaders encouraged group participations in a gentle manner without pressure on the individual to contribute.Made friends, learned new material and enjoyed good food! I would have enjoyed more meditation and less readings in the final session as my attention span does not go beyong the usual 45min learning span!

4 Stars

22/04/2008 - Angela Cameron

Informative, thought provoking and relaxed retreat with well balanced programme of study, practice and time to talk with others. Progamme offered opportunity to review own practice.
Personally I would have preferred less time on structured/discussion practice and more time allocated to 7 fold puja. Thankyou Vajrapriya and Tejasvini for a well prepared programme and Judith for great organisation. More Sangha w/e retreats for those with experience please.

5 Stars

21/04/2008 - Mark Ellis

An enjoyable weekend, getting to know more people in the Cambridge Sangha and a very interesting study text. It's also a joy to be at Vajrasana at the start of spring!!

5 Stars

21/04/2008 - Judith Rumgay

Good atmosphere among the group, good leadership.

5 Stars

03/10/2007 - angela de burgh

The quality of the teaching and the content were excellent

5 Stars

01/10/2007 - Guhyaprabha

Satyanandi's 7 point Motivation and 7 Point Posture teachings were complete teachings on the body in mediation practise.
A spacious retreat yet a full amount of practise for regulars and old hands. The pith of body and breath teachings to last for years as a healthy foundation for all types of meditation.

5 Stars

24/04/2007 - Gail Abbott

A very brief, but beautiful weekend retreat in the peaceful Suffolk countryside. Vessantara led us through heart-opening meditation exercises that, combined with good company and the spectacular Spring weather, gently helped my heart to ease into the tenderest appreciation.

5 Stars

24/04/2007 - Sujiva

Great retreat! Lets have Vessantara on every year.

5 Stars

24/04/2007 - Markos Loullis

It was really lovely to meet up with other Buddhists and Vessantera is a truly gifted presenter of the dharma,going straight for bull's eye,so to speak, while seeming only to chat. Vilmalanath was a very attentive organiser and a gentle., quiet man too.Thanks to everyone who was there.

5 Stars

23/04/2007 - Sally Radnor

It was excellent (have responded to Vessantara direct).

Thank you, - and thanks for the work you do which goes into making these CBC weekend retreats into little power-houses of Dharma teaching. Sally