Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Learn to Meditate: Part 2

5 Stars

17/02/2017 - Jade

Doing part 1 and 2 has really helped get me back on track. I was in a very dark place and suffering very badly from depression never as bad as it was at that point. This has made me even healthier mentally than I was even before my depression and was a light in the dark to help me heal

5 Stars

17/02/2017 - Bjoern

I cannot imagine a better way of learning to meditate than this course. (taught by Ruchiraketu).

5 Stars

17/02/2017 - Dawn McLean

I really enjoyed the course and gained a lot of benefit from it and appreciate the depth of knowledge Ruchi has on the subject as well as experience. Personally, i would have liked more meditation time. Thank you to Ruchi and Samita for their excellent teaching and support.

5 Stars

19/12/2016 - Lorraine

Very helpful to have same teacher and support team from module 1 leading module 2. Gave a good insight to complexities & techniques within meditation. Lot of support and interaction. Well run. Highly recommend

4 Stars

12/07/2016 - Marie

This 2nd course helped me to fine-tune my practice and understanding of meditation. It was a smaller group than in Meditation 1. I feel more equipped now.

5 Stars

14/12/2015 - Jo

Meditation changed my perception of things, it gave me eyes to feel and a new heart to listen. Now life can be experienced with a light touch of benevolence and gratitude.

5 Stars

11/12/2015 - Adrian du Plessis

Well run course, good handouts, good open discussion, questions honestly answered.
Excellent

4 Stars

03/04/2015 - Mariarosa Imray

Very enjoyable course, well presented and run. I am sorry it has finished so soon!!
It has helped me improve my meditation technique.

5 Stars

25/02/2015 - Deane Banning

This was an excellent follow on from Introduction to Meditation 1. I particularly enjoyed learning about Metta Bhavana and cultivating loving kindness meditation. Sagaraghosa teaches with skill and fun.

5 Stars

24/02/2015 - Lawrence

A very fulfilling experience, which has had the wonderful result of kick-starting my meditation practice. Thank you!

4 Stars

09/12/2014 - Rebecca

This course was very good and I felt that it helped me establish a routine with my meditation. The course helped to build my confidence to explore different meditations and literature and gave me a good grounding of language to be able to talk about my meditations.

5 Stars

09/12/2014 - Annabelle Cuttelod

The class was great! I enjoyed a lot learning about various aspects of meditation practise and it helped me deepen my practise a lot. The teacher was great and his drawings really useful!

4 Stars

22/10/2014 - Rebecca

This is a really good course and covered some interesting topics. It has given me the confidence to read books on meditation and try some independent learning. It would have been nice to have a meditation day at the end of the course like at the end of Mediation 1.

5 Stars

19/06/2014 - Graham Carter

Another wonderful course! Ruchi's knowledge, wisdom and insight was omnipresent. Guiding the way to greater spiritual understanding and peace, with compassion, dignity, humour and grace. Many thanks, Graham Carter

5 Stars

04/04/2014 - Steve

Excellent, logical follow on from the introductory course. Very participative and practical, and (as the title suggests) explorative rather than just instruction. Recommended.

5 Stars

23/02/2014 - Sandra Cross

This was a lovely follow up to meditation 1, and a space to explore aspects of meditation in more depth. Sagaraghosa has been a relaxed and wise facilitator of this process. I feel more motivated to develop my practice as a result.

5 Stars

11/12/2013 - Anonymous

This course is well worth taking after Module 1. I feel more confident in my practice and got to know my course members better.

5 Stars

11/12/2013 - Dorothy

I found Ruchi a skilled, patient and exceptional leader of our group. He used his vast experience to help us articulate and therefore consolidate our own personal learning. Thank you.

5 Stars

30/10/2013 - Gareth Barry

A very good, insightful course. It allows persons to go deeper into meditation and assist in understanding benefits of different methods of meditation.

5 Stars

05/06/2013 - Lea

I am glad that I took the opportunity to participate in the Intro. to Meditation Module 2. Here are some of the reasons: (1) The course opened new depths and flexibility in practice not encountered previously (2) it strengthened my understanding of how to integrate meditative practice into everyday living (3) it brought to light unexpected awareness of life behind life (sorry this is difficult to articulate) (4) it broadened my understanding of what Buddhists are up to (5) it gave valuable practical guidance for developing meditative (and life) skills (6) it taught how to appreciate individuals including oneself in positive ways. (7) it was a wonderful break from life as we usually live it, so great fun in a distinctly curious way. I recommend the course to anyone who wishes to pursue the paths that meditation can open for them in a helpful environment among like-minded participants.

5 Stars

21/05/2013 - Katrina

I was really unsure whether this course would be useful to me, but from the first class I was very pleasantly surprised. It's a smaller class than module 1, so you get to know your class mates better and can have more in-depth discussions. It's a really supportive environment for building on technique, and it has helped me enormously for trying out new ways of approaching a particular meditation. Thoroughly recommended. And Ruchi is a great teacher!

4 Stars

21/02/2013 - Dominic

I really learned a lot about taking my meditation practice to a deeper level with the Med 2 course.

Sagaraghosa was a kind, insightful and patient leader and I thoroughly enjoyed our little groups over the 6 weeks.

If you have a desire to build upon your mediitation practice I thoroughly reccomend this course.

Thank you!

5 Stars

19/12/2012 - Miriam

A lovely course, covering many meditation topics, and more generally what could be called psychological topics or ways of being in the world, with a light touch and with a sympathy for all our struggles.

4 Stars

18/12/2012 - Kathrin Hicks

I had a mixed experience of this course: Some bits were very useful, others less so. I would have liked more time devoted to actual practice and more formal expostulation of principles of meditation, and a little less group discussion (which sometimes felt a bit unfocussed). That said, the course did give me lots of useful ideas to explore in my meditation.

5 Stars

16/12/2012 - Dr Paola Trimarco

I really enjoyed this course. It has helped me to gain a deeper understanding of meditation and to establish a more regular practice.

5 Stars

24/02/2012 - Patrick Leckie

The course was extremely helpful in exploring meditation practice. I feel much more confident in approaching difficulties. The different themes each week were very good focus areas and the daily meditation diary helped to reflect. Sargraghosa was a skilled teacher with a light touch and adaptable approach. Thank you.

5 Stars

27/12/2011 - Elisa

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, which answered most questions arisen from module 1 and helped me to go deeper in my meditation practice. I would recommend it to whoever has taken Module 1.

5 Stars

07/12/2011 - Lauren

Unfortunately I missed two weeks of the course, but Ruchiraketu sent me the template for the meditation diary every week when I couldn't make it, which was lovely! The group was incredible and we all learnt so much from each other. A real sense of support for your meditation which carries over into your private practice at home.

5 Stars

06/12/2011 - Nigel Dawson

Once again another great course led by Ruchi and is helpers. Has really advanced my meditation techniques and now looking forward to intro to Buddhism in January. Have a great Xmas.

5 Stars

06/12/2011 - Frazer Dewey

This course has helped me improve my meditation and provided a number of useful new techniques I now use regularly.

5 Stars

06/12/2011 - Giulietta

Thanks for the wonderful class! I enjoyed the chance to explore meditation with different themes, and to share experiences with others.

5 Stars

06/12/2011 - Pat Alexander

A gentle step into meditation which offers kindness and understanding to all those who are struggling to meditate. It gave me hope, happiness and a sense of peace as I experienced the joy of being amongst like minded people with a teacher who has the gift of being deeply compassionate but also offers the beauty of humour to the sessions.

5 Stars

21/06/2011 - Judith Liddell-King

Illuminating, and as with every course I've done here - this was my third - imperceptibly shifting me towards living in a way I've always sensed that for me is right but kept at arms length. Thank you thank you.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Annie McKinney

Fascinating, insightful - lots of practice and helpful strategies.
Facilitator GP was inspiring.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Kay

Meditation 2 has enabled me to develop my meditation practise with the sensitive guidance and encouragement of Guhyaprabha and the other members of the group. It's been an oasis in the week and once again has illustrated the benefits of regular meditation practice in every aspect of my life. I recommend it.

4 Stars

05/04/2011 - Seungho Dalgleish

It was a very good opportunity to deepen and widen meditation.

5 Stars

27/02/2011 - Steph Burwitz

Fantastic extension on meditation level 1. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole course. There should be a level 3!!!

5 Stars

25/02/2011 - Rich

The course was really useful and enjoyable. I feel I've deepened my understanding of meditation a bit and that I will be able to take what I have learned and develop it further in my own (somewhat irregular!) practice. Well worth doing!

5 Stars

25/02/2011 - Phil Holloway

Meditation Module 2 was the perfect adjunct to the introduction to meditation course. We learned how to experiment and play with our meditations to keep them fresh and interesting and above all fun. The teaching was pitched just right. I would also recommend doing this course soon after completing module 1.

5 Stars

04/01/2011 - Des

This course takes you further into meditation and is an excellent follow-up to Level 1. Ruchiraketu is a brilliant teacher and makes the course interesting and provides no-nonsense advice and guidance. It is now clear that meditation and Buddhist teaching are very closely linked and I am going on to the Introduction to Buddhism Course in January. Everyone could benefit from the 2 meditation courses offered by the centre. If in doubt - just book it!

4 Stars

22/12/2010 - Anna

This course was unlike Meditation One, more of an exploration than a learning curve. There was a lot of class discussion which helped support and develop my practice at home, which I am now more confident in. Overall, I would have liked to have done a meditation in each class, which we only did sometimes, but it was definitely worth doing the course.

5 Stars

21/12/2010 - anonymous

A very interesting and well run course that provided a lot ofinformation and inspiration.

5 Stars

02/03/2010 - Linda Bussian

This was an excellent follow on from Module 1, developing and exploring further meditative practices. I would recommend taking the course as soon as possible after Module 1 as it really helps strengthen your motivation and commitment to meditation.

5 Stars

28/02/2010 - Matthew

This course really helped my meditation practice in a number of ways. Importantly, it encouraged me to take a more individualised and pragmatic approach to meditation. It also helped to me see, and thereby tune into, facets of meditation such as receptiveness and broad awareness, which have really enriched my experience. Sargaraghosa is a very skilful teacher in my opinion and her approach made a lot of sense to me. I would highly recommend this course.

5 Stars

13/12/2009 - Jilly

Excellent course. Well structured with a good balance of meditation practice and discussion. Enjoyed the introduction to some of the traditional tools that can help practice.

4 Stars

08/12/2009 - Heather

I enjoyed taking part in this course and found the tutors helpful and informative.

5 Stars

11/11/2009 - Lynda Field

This was such a great course; well considered and well taught and the leaders are such good fun. Every time I attend a class at the Centre I really enjoy myself, so I just keep on going!

4 Stars

11/12/2008 - mary

I enjoyed Meditation 2 and found many aspects helpful for my practice. I liked the different ideas for focussing and the links with various aspects of meditation - the metaphor of the bowl of water was good. I thought it built on Meditation 1 well. I would have liked it to include some walking meditation and more poetry!

5 Stars

09/12/2008 - Jessica Jackson

An enjoyable, thoughtful and carefully structured course that achieved its aim of building up meditation practice by offering a variety of tools to achieve this.

5 Stars

01/03/2007 - Alasdair Churchard

A really good course, helped a lot with bringing out some of the aspects of the two meditations- always relaxing to go to the centre as well.

4 Stars

08/02/2007 - Isabel Perkins

A very practical approach that gives plenty of opportunity to explore and develop one's experience of meditation. Interesting discussion time as well as experiential approach to learning.

4 Stars

28/01/2007 - Jan Roberts

Good discussion and comparing notes with other people on the course. Good homework suggestions on meditation to put into practice.


4 Stars

24/01/2007 - linda appleby

LOVELY ATMOSPHERE AND SUPPORTIVE GROUP WHICH FORMED OVER THE SIX WEEKS. a LITTLE SHORT ON CONTENT, BUT PLENTY OF OPPORTUNITY FOR PRACTICE AND DISCUSSION. i AM A REGULAR MEDITATOR NOW AND CAN GO TO DROP-IN SESSIONS.

5 Stars

24/01/2007 - Daphne Astor

Accurate reflection of the second level of meditation with appropriate discussions and lectures. Again an excellent group feeling and wonderful teachers.