Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Learn to Meditate: Part 1

5 Stars

17/02/2017 - Christina Stratton

I thoroughly enjoyed the 6 week course. It made me stop and evaluate my life as it is today. We live in such a fast moving world that we forget, at times, to stop and think about others. Thank you for showing me how to do this with meditation.

5 Stars

08/12/2016 - Anonymous

This course was SO well taught. Sagaraghosa is an incredibly clear and careful teacher, and the course content in terms of the balance between theory and practice was beautifully thought out. And the handouts were excellent too. My only criticism was there was too much use of the "get into groups of three or four" format for discussion; whose heart doesn't sink at those words?!

5 Stars

08/12/2016 - Rebecca Bazeley

Excellent course with a wonderful teacher in Ruchie and support from Samata. I would recommend this to anyone who is seriously interested in begining meditation practice. Good blend of practice, theory and discussion. Also good facilities!

5 Stars

07/12/2016 - Hattie

I found the course very stimulating. Learning how to meditate has helped in relaxation and responding rather than reacting.

5 Stars

07/12/2016 - Julie Watson

The course was great. I got a massive amount out of it and can't wait for Module 2. The meditation practice has helped me feel calmer and clearer mentally.

5 Stars

06/12/2016 - Lorraine

Sagaraghosa is a wonderful teacher. She and her team, provide a supportive and encouraging environment. Highly recommend

5 Stars

06/12/2016 - Jonathan Lawrence

I found this a very helpful, well-paced course and like most members I have enrolled for the follow-on Level 2 course in January.

5 Stars

18/10/2016 - Rachel

Great introduction and very friendly team.

5 Stars

12/07/2016 - Tara Bucklow

Well led, structured, thorough next step on the Meditation journey.

5 Stars

12/07/2016 - Tara Bucklow

Well led, structured, thorough next step on the Meditation journey. Please note:I actually took the Meditation 2 class, not the Introduction

5 Stars

22/03/2016 - John

I was really happy with the course. The teachers were very down to earth, and created a helpful and friendly environment. The other people in the group were great. The meditation day/lunch towards the end of the course was the perfect way to consolidate what I had learnt. I have already signed up for meditation 2, and am very much looking forward to it!

5 Stars

22/05/2015 - Ellie

I had no prior experience with meditation and this course walks you through it wonderfully. The course leader was great as well as the supporters, and the overall atmosphere in the Buddhist Centre was very welcoming. I would highly recommend this course to anyone with an interest in starting a meditation practice or an interest in the Buddhist perspective of meditation.

5 Stars

20/05/2015 - Vincenzo

5 Stars

03/04/2015 - James Stubbins

This course has been invaluable a lot of fun. It has taught me so much about how my wandering mind and inner critic can be accepted and are part of my fruitful development. I am learning to be more loving and kind in all areas of my life. I am really grateful to Ruchi and the rest of my fellow group friends for making each session such a calming experience that I can take in to my life. I have already signed up for module 2 and lm excited by what it will bring! Until then I will practice being aware and in the moment, im starting to find more beauty in my daily living.

5 Stars

03/04/2015 - Jo

Really enjoyed this course, met some lovely people. The centre is friendly and welcoming and I will be taking the second course at some point. The teacher, Ruchi,was great!

5 Stars

24/02/2015 - Neil

A brilliant course, taught by a very experienced and expert team. Highly recommended!

5 Stars

24/02/2015 - Neil

A brilliant course, taught by a very experienced and expert team. Highly recommended!

5 Stars

24/02/2015 - Ann Watkins

Really recommend this course. A couple of friends told me about it, so myself and my husband signed up. I had not tried meditation before, but that did not matter. You start from the basics and are taken through each practice. The discussions during each class are helpful; you get a chance to share your experiences, and any difficulties you may be having, and also hear from others in the class about how they are getting on. The teachers are great, they put you at ease, and the whole atmosphere at the centre is so calming. The course is taught with good humour, and I was sorry when the 6 weeks came to an end. We intend to do Module 2, and perhaps also the Buddhism Module 1 later in the year! I also really enjoyed the Meditation day, afterwards I felt so relaxed and peaceful. I am going to try my best to keep meditating regularly as they seem to be so many benefits.

5 Stars

27/01/2015 - David Godding

Very good and balanced introduction to both the basics of buddhism and meditation. One suggestion would be to provide everyone with the written notes from the course as well, because they're very useful to look back on.

4 Stars

22/11/2014 - Nicky Morrison

this was a well taught course which balanced Buddhist teaching in the first half with meditation practice in the second half. The group discussions were good and if unable to attend, it was very useful to receive a very detailed email write up of what I had missed. Thanks for that.

5 Stars

22/11/2014 - Dereck Smith

I gained more from the course than I expected. What I received was conformation that what I believe in, is my truth. What that means is, whatever I beleive is the truth, it will manefest into my reality. That's not what the course was there for at all, or trying to teach, but that is what I experienced, I now understand that is wasn't the couse I was attracted to, it was the course that was attracted to me.

5 Stars

21/11/2014 - Brad

Having been meditating at the centre on the Thursday evening drop in for a while, I thought it was about time I did a course!

The 6 weeks is just a touch on the main subjects and gives you lots of practical advise on meditation technique and an insight into Buddhist teachings.

Very engaging and it has made a difference to my practise - I will be going on to do Buddhism 2 in the future.

Thanks guys.

5 Stars

22/10/2014 - William (Bill) James

Excellent course presented in a fun, informative and relaxed manner. Course facilitator (Ruchi) was excellent...! Thanks to CBC for putting on such a great course. Hoping to do Meditation 2 in the Ew Year..!

5 Stars

21/10/2014 - Charlotte Woodward

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Ruchiraketu is a fantastic teacher, and has provided me with some excellent tools to find a sense of calm, an extra level of kindness to myself and others and I am just starting to open a door to a part of life I wasn't really aware of before. I have made some lovely friends within the group and whilst there were a few challenges along the way (it takes commitment and self motivation), this course has started journey I am so pleased I have begun to undertake..!

5 Stars

21/10/2014 - Marie Buda

Fantastic. Ruchi was wonderful and met some lovely people. Can't wait for Meditation 2!

5 Stars

11/07/2014 - Annabelle Cuttelod

I really enjoy this class. It has finally allowed me to start a meditation practise, which I had tried for a long time on my own, without success. It allowed me to understanding the basics, to find a good posture and to feel the benefits of it. Many thanks for offering me this discovery!

5 Stars

28/06/2014 - Sheila

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and really benefitted from it. Well organised, excellent resources, and a friendly supportive atmosphere with lots of calm common sense, good humour, and gentle kindness. The meditation day helps to tie it all together and really boosts along the practice too. I'm not interested in converting to Buddhism, but that was never an issue. I'm impressed with how much just a few weeks of regular meditation has improved my quality of life and general wellbeing. I'm now enrolled in Module 2.

5 Stars

11/06/2014 - Justyna

Meditation 1

5 Stars

10/06/2014 - Paddy Doyle

Excellent introduction to meditation. Worth doing. :-)

5 Stars

20/04/2014 - Cat

Very enjoyable course in a welcoming and friendly atmosphere... looking forward to Meditation 2 :-)

5 Stars

04/04/2014 - Graham Carter

Outstanding course. Ruchi's insight, warm nature and knowledge come shining through, in what was a truly inspirational course attended by some very special people

5 Stars

22/02/2014 - Ann Kember

This is the first course that I have taken at the Buddhist Centre and I came to it with a few reservations. However, those reservations were soon swept away and I found the course more than helpful - it was just what I needed. The 'team' were all very open and kind and the atmosphere created was absolutely conducive to help us beginners move into the meditations.

5 Stars

22/02/2014 - Steve

Very enjoyable course with excellent guidance from the class leadership but with plenty of opportunity for questions and interaction. Good support materials and a very friendly and helpful support team. Highly recommended. Module 3 beckons...

5 Stars

15/12/2013 - cate fish

fantastic - just what i was looking for and does exactly what it sets out to do.
Well thought through support materials

5 Stars

12/12/2013 - 'Teresa

The course was fantastic, even though I didn't complete it; work travel got in the way. But I learned a lot, and gained a lot, and was particularly grateful for Sagaraghosa's teaching and the kindness and positivity she radiates. Thank you!!!

5 Stars

10/12/2013 - Sarah Nixon

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Calm and supportive environment to learn mediation and everyone at the centre is welcoming and friendly. The resources provided are excellent in helping you practice at home. I'd recommend the course to anyone with an interest in learning about mediation or how the mind works.

5 Stars

30/10/2013 - Anonymous

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The Cambridge Buddhist Centre is a welcoming place and the facilities are well set up for the course. Ruchi is an excellent teacher. The meditation skills I have learnt are easy to practice at home and are helping me in my daily life.

5 Stars

22/05/2013 - Alex Grimaldi

Very good course and great team members. Six weeks of meditation changed small things in my life for the better. Cannot wait to start Meditation 2.

5 Stars

27/03/2013 - Linda

I have attended modules 1 and 2 now, and have found both courses excellent, module 1 gave a good introduction to meditation, and module 2 gave some excellent tools for working in meditation. Well worth attending.

5 Stars

19/02/2013 - Linda

An interesting and informative course. I was already a meditator, but picked up many useful tips, which really helped and improved my meditation.

5 Stars

18/02/2013 - Martin

I found this an excellent introduction to meditation in a supportive, caring environment. Well worth the time.

5 Stars

17/12/2012 - Gemma Young

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the approach taken in terms of bringing together everyone in group meditation. It helped me to prepare practically for meditation (i.e. posture) making it a much more pleasant experience, as well as, providing a range of different approaches to add variety to meditation. I especially enjoyed the final full day of meditation which brought everything together nicely. Also, on the day the addition of poems added further depth to the session.Overall a fantastic course. Thanks!

5 Stars

17/12/2012 - Mariarosa Imray

I enjoyed the introduction to meditation enormously. It has helped me to meditate mornings and feel better for the rest of the day.

4 Stars

16/12/2012 - Rebecca

I enjoyed the classes and I have no negative feedback to give. I agree that commencing the classes at the earlier slot, 715pm, is a good idea. Perhaps 7pm would be even better.

5 Stars

23/10/2012 - Helen Cherry

How very glad I am that I decided upon this introductory course to meditation. I have not only enjoyed it immensely but it has undoubtedly changed my life for the better. Ruchiraketu is a most excellent teacher; he has the right mix of wit, knowledge and a deep love and understanding of human beings. I felt encouraged and well supported throughout with the mix of other participants really enhancing the experience.. Roll on level 2 which I signed up for before level 1 was even finished!

5 Stars

29/05/2012 - Owen Morgan

It was a very interesting, thoroughly enjoyable course. Full of practical advice for meditation in a supportive atmosphere. The teacher was excellent. Thank you .

5 Stars

09/04/2012 - Lea

I took this course after the Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction, which I had taken some years ago. The difference, for me, was that Introduction to Meditation opened up new possibilities for positive growth and spiritual movement, as well as useful help with techniques of practice.

5 Stars

27/03/2012 - Annie

Very enjoyable and rewarding.Helpful handouts and CD for home practice, and the practice day was terrific in both consolidating what we'd already done and taking it further.

4 Stars

06/12/2011 - George Hammett

Generally good.Found the silence aspect difficult to start with but grew on me.

5 Stars

28/07/2011 - Paul Webb

Fantastic to experiance this course. Discovered things about myself i really did not expect. the guidance, sensitivity and dare i say it love that our instructor Guhyaprabha brings to the class shines out. Thank you

5 Stars

25/06/2011 - Laura McInerney

I really enjoyed this course. It was a good balance of practice and reflection. To get the most out of it you need to be able to dedicate time outside the class to practise.

The day long session was great too and really helped me to try different techniques.

I'm now doing Meditation 2, as is most of my group from level 1 so I think that the fact that most of us enrolled straight away stands as a testament to the way we felt about level 1.

4 Stars

05/04/2011 - Jaehui Bae

Due to unexpected workload, I could not attend a majority of classes. Anyway, it was a really good chance for me to learn what meditation is.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Rebecca

This course surprised me in so many ways. I had not expected to be so quietly stirred by it - intellectually and emotionally. Fascinating and transforming in equal measure.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Wendy Andrews

The whole experience was more than I hoped for and I would whole-heartedly recommend it. Ruchiraketu was both kind and humourous and drew our group together which added to whole experience.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Judith Liddell-King

This introductory course is a treat. Ruchiraketu, with his fountains of knowledge, gentleness and tremendous wit, teaches practices that bring a person back to his or her often neglected self. All I can say is thank you, and I'm looking forward to the next course.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Adam Hooper

An excellent introduction of meditation, very well taught by Ruchiraketu. The structure of the course progressively introduced you to new methods and concepts so you never felt overwhelmed. The centre is a great environment for learning, but the handouts and CD's were useful for practicing at home also. I'd recommend the course and when it is completed you will most likely want to take it further.

5 Stars

05/04/2011 - Oscar Gillespie

A fantastic course, with a great atmosphere and an inspiring teacher. Charming people, very pleased that I went on this.

5 Stars

04/03/2011 - Jane Learmonth

I enjoyed the course very much and found it extremely useful not only on a personal level but also in my work as a counsellor. The "team" were supportive and encouraging and our leader, GP, an outstanding and inspiring teacher.

5 Stars

01/03/2011 - John

A wonderful gentle introduction that has really helped me to begin to understand myself. And all taking place in a friendly supportive environment.

5 Stars

25/02/2011 - Sue

Very good course with practical advice on two methods of meditation. Lovely and patient teacher who encouraged group interaction and practice sessions

5 Stars

23/12/2010 - Miriam

I found this course excellent and thought-provoking. Sagaraghosa and the course helpers had a huge fund of experience to draw on, which really helped those of us grappling with meditation for the first time. Looking forward to the second module.

5 Stars

22/12/2010 - Phil

A big thank you to everyone involved in this course. The atmosphere in the centre is quite special. The instruction hit just the right note. I felt very supported and encouraged the whole time so that meditation has now become part of my daily life. Thoroughly recommended.

5 Stars

21/12/2010 - Adrian du Plessis

I have little to say beyond 'excellent'. Well organized, well led, good handouts, very useful CDs, nice environment.

5 Stars

20/10/2010 - nic williams

i really enjoyed the course and got a lot out of it. i'll be doing the follow up course

thanks

5 Stars

19/10/2010 - Des

This is a very good introduction to meditation. I have no hesitation in signing up for the second stage of this course. Very well organised and taught.

5 Stars

19/10/2010 - Dean

Thoroughly enjoyed the course - good balance between discussion and activities. Taught practical techniques, which were supported by the CD's. I am now confident to practice at home and will be enrolling on the Level 2 course. Thank you.

5 Stars

02/08/2010 - Nikki Bartlett

I found the course to be exactly what I was looking for. Great introduction to meditation, peaceful surroundings and learning based on experience.

5 Stars

20/07/2010 - Peter Britton

I found this an excellent introduction into meditation and contained everything that I needed. The course is conducted in a relaxed and reassuring atmosphere and gently help me on my way.

4 Stars

15/07/2010 - Pat

It is a course that gently guides you into meditation and also introduces the beautiful concept of loving kindness.

5 Stars

14/07/2010 - Jon Wheeler

Great course. Guhyaprabha had an excellent way of being and allowed the flow to be. Will do next module. Thank you.

5 Stars

02/06/2010 - Claire

An excellent course, very interesting, enjoyable and well taught

4 Stars

26/05/2010 - Yasmeen

An enjoyable course in a very friendly atmosphere. Learnt a lot and have found the meditations really very useful in everyday life. The 1 day meditation course was a little bit too intense but gave a really thorough grounding on the basics of meditation.

4 Stars

25/05/2010 - rod rippin

I was very impressed by the teaching,the venue and the group of people on the course. It's not easy to use meditation effectively but I feel that I've made a good start. Thank you. Rod

5 Stars

25/05/2010 - Rich

I would strongly recommend this course. Whether you want to look seriously into mediation and/or Buddhism, or if you just want to enjoy some peace and calm, it is a really great way to spend a few Monday evenings!

5 Stars

18/04/2010 - Susan

I found every aspect of the course valuable. The atmosphere in the group was friendly, supportive as well as focused. In addition to the course discussions and opportunity to learn from others, the guidance relating to meditation at home was very helpful. I was slightly apprehensive about the whole-day meeting towards the end of the course, but actually it turned out to be very enjoyable and possibly for me the most valuable aspect of the course as a whole. Thank you.

5 Stars

12/04/2010 - Charles

Thoroughly enjoyable, the six weeks passed so quickly and the feeling of positive change when reflecting back on the anxiety of attending the first session is amazing. Looking forward to Module 2. A wonderful group of supportive people and Ruchiraketu is a great teacher who adapted easily to the needs of the group.

5 Stars

07/04/2010 - Raphae

I had very high expectations from this course, which were more than fulfilled. Thank you very much!

4 Stars

23/02/2010 - Tim Ewbank

excellent introduction - good combination of theory/discussion & practice. Having two tutors with slightly different styles was good too. The course definitely caused me to have some thoughts I would not have otherwise had & therefore prompted me to continue meditating.

4 Stars

25/10/2009 - Catherine

A very good course. Facilitator clearly skilled in teaching the art of meditation; encouraging and supportive also with a sense of humour which often eased the intensity of the learning.

5 Stars

22/10/2009 - Chris Porter

Very nicely balanced between practical application and discussion. Even after just six weeks it feels that I have been gifted with a practice habit that will stay for good. Also difficult to imagine a more welcoming and friendly set of people. Already booked on module two, but I guess that was obvious!

5 Stars

21/10/2009 - Pauline Schiff

I thought that this was an excellent course. It gave me a very good understanding of meditation and has encouraged me to develop the practice. The teaching was outstanding. Thank you

5 Stars

21/10/2009 - Gemma Gordon

I really enjoyed this module and found it accessible and informative. I think that both those with previous meditation experience and those without can benefit from this module. It was really nice to meet new people and to share a common experience. The Buddhist centre is a lovely space that is very welcoming, and I will definitely be returning to classes in the future.

5 Stars

20/10/2009 - Sophie Chapman

AWESOME.

Provided a safe space to explore personal issues with supportive wisdom/teaching. The instructor and team were all wonderful; the practice day was really great. Sorry to be unimaginative with adjectives, but it was all really brilliant.

Looking forward to the next course immensely.

5 Stars

24/07/2009 - Anne

I thought this course was very helpful and extremely well led. Just unfortunate I was ill twice and on holiday for the day session.

4 Stars

22/07/2009 - Heather Christian

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and learnt quite a lot. I am very interested in the follow on course which starts in September and will book up for this.

4 Stars

20/02/2009 - Daniel Jones

I felt that this course was an enjoyable and informative introduction to meditation. The main teacher of the class was Guhyaprapha, who seemed to really value every member of the group's efforts. By the end of the course it felt as though all had made real progress and many (including myself) have chosen to attend the next course. My only criticism would be that sometimes I would've preferred a little less talking and some more actual meditation practice. However, I recognise that discussion is an important part of the process, and overall I would recommend the course to anyone with a curiosity about meditation.

4 Stars

09/12/2008 - Tim

Thorough introduction to the basics. Lovely quiet, calming environment at the centre. Proficient instruction and support throughout. Will be coming back for more...

5 Stars

14/11/2008 - Elaine

I really enjoyed the course, it was very well paced with a good balance on meditation and discussion.

4 Stars

28/10/2008 - dittany rose

good course thank you

4 Stars

27/10/2008 - Anita Vannin Quine

Really enjoyed the experience. The tutor was clear and paced the evening well. Found having extra support available very helpful... hearing their thoughts/input. Calming. I am on the mailing list which is great. Thank you.

5 Stars

11/07/2008 - Jessica Jackson

A sensitively led experience which has been of inestimable value to me.

5 Stars

11/07/2008 - Trisha

The course exceeded my expectations and am now looking forward to Module 2

5 Stars

15/04/2008 - Lester Robinson

Really enjoyed this course, great Tutor and a lovely class.

5 Stars

19/02/2008 - Mary Palazzo

I found the course extremely helpful and pitched at just the right level for me. I especially liked the three-way approach from the course leader and the two (sometimes 3!) helpers. I felt really very welcome by the Centre as a whole and am now booking on to L. 2.

5 Stars

15/10/2007 - Martin Clarke

Excellent - Ruchi is fantastic! His approach is incredibly supportive and as such, my meditation practice has come on leaps and bounds.
Highly recommended!

5 Stars

15/10/2007 - glo singer

Meditation module 1
This course went far beyond my previous knowledge of meditation .The Metta bhavana has been such a heart opening experience to self and others and the Mindfulness breathing calming and stilling. The days meditation a real gem .Big thank you to Ruchi

5 Stars

15/10/2007 - Jonathan Mitchell

I feel that I have benefited greatly from the course. I have enjoyed attending and found the monday evening schedule easy to stick to. The meditation day is also constructive and allows time for greater intensity of practice and exploring further aspects of meditation at this level.

The support materials provided have been brilliant and most helpful in home practice.

Ruchiraketu has been an insightful, patient and encouraging instructor, leading discussions gently whilst allowing individuals the time to have their say, and adding a spritely humour to proceedings.

Thank you very much for a successful course.

4 Stars

29/05/2007 - John Renton

I would like to thank Sagaraghosa once again for this course. I have already filled in a form with my comments on it for her. It has improved my state of mind: I have better equanimity, concentration and awareness. I continue to use the CDs for meditation.

4 Stars

28/02/2007 - Georgina Fuller

A well structured, well taught and enjoyable class. The practice day was a useful and enjoyable experience. The teachers were helpful and approachable. I feel I've benefited from attending.

5 Stars

24/01/2007 - linda appleby

i thought it was a lovely course and I really looked forward to it every week. I learnt to relax about breathing, something I had been trying to do for thirty years. It provided a good foundation for daily meditation practice and for Level Two.